Garden log 18/01/15

Yeah, I’ve been busy again. Between babies and school holidays and Catechesis of the Good Shepherd and general being a mum and running a house, there isn’t much time for things like this. If you want to see what CGS stuff has been happening, go to cgsstpiusxhamilton.wordpress.com.

Just as I haven’t had much time for blogging, I haven’t had much time for gardening. Thank goodness I managed to get a bunch of seedlings in in spring (half of which have gone to seed, or tried to, but the rest of which have been giving us green food on demand) cos hardly any of the seeds I put in did anything.

This is how things looked last garden log.

Thought I'd take a photo from ground level this time. It was looking awfully messy but Amazing Husband decided to get out the weedeater this morning and not it's looking a lot better.

This is from 25/10/14.

And now:

It's a different angle, but quite the contrast.

It’s a different angle, but quite the contrast.

Yup, it’s a total mess. But most of it is edible, so that’s ok.

I harvested my garlic. Not a bad haul (this is minus a few heads I gave away). Going to have to sort it soon. Bleh.

I harvested my garlic. Not a bad haul (this is minus a few heads I gave away). Going to have to sort it soon. Bleh.

I managed to kill all but one of my potatoes. And I'm pretty sure it's on its way out too :( But I will have lots of nice composty mulch from the bags :D

I managed to kill all but one of my potatoes. And I’m pretty sure it’s on its way out too 😦 But I will have lots of nice composty mulch from the bags πŸ˜€

This beautiful cabbage was self sown and is doing much better than the ones last year. I have put a bit more into the soil, which helps.

This beautiful cabbage was self sown and is doing much better than the ones last year. I have put a bit more into the soil, which helps.

If you look closely you will see some lovely purple peas. I thiiiink these are ones I sowed, but I also put a few seedlings in so could be wrong.

If you look closely you will see some lovely purple peas. I thiiiink these are ones I sowed, but I also put a few seedlings in so could be wrong.

These flowers are from calendula plants that actually germinated from seed. Yay!

These flowers are from calendula plants that actually germinated from seed. Yay!

Not edible, but I love my cannas. Remind me of my grandpa.

Not edible, but I love my cannas. Remind me of my grandpa.

So, this bed is meant to be full of gourds. It's full of lemon balm and unidentified but I'm pretty sure inedible weeds. But hey, the lemon balm is nice...

So, this bed is meant to be full of gourds. It’s full of lemon balm and unidentified (but I’m pretty sure inedible) weeds. But hey, the lemon balm is nice…

These are the black cherry tomatoes. Sadly I've had to cut back on tomatoes but the boys love them. Haven't had any just yet from this plant, though the ordinary one has given us a few already.

These are the black cherry tomatoes. Sadly I’ve had to cut back on tomatoes but the boys love them. Haven’t had any just yet from this plant, though the ordinary one has given us a few already.

This is a large tomato. I can't remember what colour, but it won't be long till we find out :)

This is a large tomato. I can’t remember what colour, but it won’t be long till we find out πŸ™‚

The last few carrots are flowering. Perhaps their seeds will have more luck than the ones I planted :( I was going to have pretty rainbow ones and everything.

The last few carrots are flowering. Perhaps their seeds will have more luck than the ones I planted 😦 I was going to have pretty rainbow ones and everything.

And this is my borage forest. I did tell AH that he was welcome to eat them last time he weedwacked, but they're still there.

And this is my borage forest. I did tell AH that he was welcome to eat them last time he weedwacked, but they’re still there.

The peppermint I planted is doing very well. Will have to figure out just what to do with it. I suppose I can make loose leaf tea if nothing else, but an essence would be nice, since the males of the family rather enjoy such things.

The peppermint I planted is doing very well. Will have to figure out just what to do with it. I suppose I can make loose leaf tea if nothing else, but an essence would be nice, since the males of the family rather enjoy such things.

So the cool sunflower bean tunnel I was going to make.... 3 sunflowers and a couple of beans survived, none of them doing anything. Which is not surprising given the soil they're in. Oh well.

So the cool sunflower bean tunnel I was going to make…. 3 sunflowers and a couple of beans survived, none of them doing anything. Which is not surprising given the soil they’re in. Oh well.

There’s still plenty of time left in the season. With any luck I’ll be able to clear some of the weeds that are causing problems and get things a little under control, but I’m not holding my breath. At least I’ll have plenty of greens and tomatoes. And the strawberries are doing ok too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

