Garden log 25/10/14

I’ve actually managed to do quite a bit in the garden and it’s starting to look like one again, instead of the mass of (largely edible, so it kinda counts) weeds that were in there.

Thought I'd take a photo from ground level this time. It was looking awfully messy but Amazing Husband decided to get out the weedeater this morning and not it's looking a lot better.

Thought I’d take a photo from ground level this time. It was looking awfully messy but Amazing Husband decided to get out the weedeater this morning and now it’s looking a lot better.

In a totally different spot, we are attempting to grow a sunflower/bean tunnel this year. I have no idea whether it'll work but if it does it'll be pretty cool. Two different types of beans and two different types of sunflower. The boys sowed the seeds but I've put the plants in. There are still a few that aren't ready.

In a totally different spot, we are attempting to grow a sunflower/bean tunnel this year. I have no idea whether it’ll work but if it does it’ll be pretty cool. Two different types of beans and two different types of sunflower. The boys sowed the seeds but I’ve put the plants in. There are still a few that aren’t ready.

The beans and meant to climb up the sunflowers but, er, I didn't check how long each one took to grow so I have a feeling the beans will be too fast :(

The beans are meant to climb up the sunflowers but, er, I didn’t check how long each one took to grow so I have a feeling the beans will be too fast 😦

Celery, last year's carrots, self sown borage, and a pepper or two (damn slugs).

Celery, last year’s carrots, self sown borage, and a pepper or two (damn slugs).

This beautiful 4 Seasons lettuce decided to germinate a year later. Random, but welcome.

This beautiful 4 Seasons lettuce decided to germinate a year later. Random, but welcome.

One of my tomato plants. I have a red cherry, a black cherry, and a big tomato. I discovered that Palmers stock organic/heirloom seedlings - yay!

One of my tomato plants. I have a red cherry, a black cherry, and a big tomato. I discovered that Palmers stock organic/heirloom seedlings – yay! Cos let’s be honest, I just don’t have time to sow everything from seed at the moment (sadly) so if it can’t be direct sown or has a low germination rate, it’s coming from a punnet. Plus some stuff is actually more cost effective that way.

A mixed-ish bit - celery, lettuce, beetroot, chard.

A mixed-ish bit – celery, kale, beetroot, chard. I have bad news about my coffee grinds or ash experiment to keep the slugs away. The ash worked for a few days and then stopped. Most of my white pansies (to hopefully keep the white butterflies confused and away) are still flowerless thanks to the slugs. I do have a new strategy, involving boys with butterfly nets, but I suspect it will fail also.

My wonderful husband built me an anti-bird device for the strawberries. Most pleasing.

My wonderful husband built me an anti-bird device for the strawberries. Most pleasing.

Yay silverbeet! I'm finally growing beets the size I expect. It seems a little fertiliser is most welcome.

Yay silverbeet! I’m finally growing beets the size I expect. It seems a little fertiliser is most welcome. Some old celery in there too.

Snapdragons and garlic. Probably some kale in there too.

Snapdragons and garlic. And the black cherry tomato. Those plants against the door turned out to be nasty noxious things called furry nightshade or something that grow enormously tall and take over the world. So I got them out and now they’re slowly dying.

So I'm growing potatoes for the first time. Apparently these bags are perfect cos they breath and are easy to mound up (ie you chuck the seed potatoes in, cover them, then keep covering as they grow. I've been using compost, mulch, and lawn clippings to keep up with the growth. Everything is growing quite fast just at present!

So I’m growing potatoes for the first time. Apparently these bags are perfect cos they breath and are easy to mound up (ie you chuck the seed potatoes in, cover them, then keep covering as they grow. I’ve been using compost, mulch, and lawn clippings to keep up with the growth. Everything is growing quite fast just at present!

Damn thumbnail is too small. Look at the nice mulch ) My neighbour and I did a bit of mulching one day (they have a mulcher) and I'm getting to enjoy the spoils.

Some of the bok choy is finally recovering from the slugs (but not all), just in time to start flowering. Bah. Look at the nice mulch though 🙂 My neighbour and I did a bit of mulching one day (they have a mulcher) and I’m getting to enjoy the spoils.

Every spring this lovely plant pops up. I had no idea what it was till looking at a Richard Scarry book with Sir A. Lily of the valley, apparently. Always wondered what that looked like!

Every spring this lovely plant pops up. I had no idea what it was till looking at a Richard Scarry book with Sir A. Lily of the valley, apparently. Always wondered what that looked like!

My broccoli are on their way out after a looong run. Don't think I'll bother trying to grow them in summer again.

My broccoli are on their way out after a looong run. Don’t think I’ll bother trying to grow them in summer again.

And the herbaceous border, looking lovely, and needing a trim in places.

And the herbaceous border, looking lovely, and needing a trim in places.

Leave a Reply

