Detoxing life: cleaning your body

I’ve already written a post about how to get rid of stinky armpits by no longer washing them (see here). You might wonder: if I don’t use soap on my pits, do I use it at all? The answer is yes: for my finger nails (and handwashing) and to scrub my filthy feet. My feet tend to get quite dirty in summer and a scrubbing brush by itself just doesn’t cut it. And for some reason, unless I clean them with soap each morning my whole body feels yuck.

So, my “beauty and cleansing” regime.

Body: pits and feet as above. The rest of my body I rub down with a facecloth if I’ve been sweating a lot or feel grimy or clammy, and otherwise I actually do nothing with it. There are all sorts of helpful bacteria on your skin and why get rid of them unless you have to? If I’m feeling dry, coconut oil sorts that.

My chest and back can get quite oily so if they need a clean I do the same as for my face, only more lazily

Face: a lazy version of the oil cleansing method. There are all sorts of ways you can do it but I find simple to work well. Rub in olive oil, wipe/scrub (depending on grimyness) off. I have nasty combination skin with sebhorreic dermatitis in places and this is the only thing that has ever worked for me. No need to moisturise, either.

Hair: Yup, I’m a no ‘pooer. That’s no shampoo. I used to use baking soda and an apple cider vinegar rinse but it was too harsh, so recently switched briefly to rye flour to wash (very effective but messy, and you get “ryedruff” as it dries), and am now using chickpea flour for the clean, with the acv rinse. Make chickpea flour into a paste, scrub into wet hair with fingers, rinse, then rinse with approx 1tbsp acv in 1 cup warm water. As you might guess, I no longer measure it properly. Rub a tiny bit of coconut oil into hair while still wet.

The only pic I have of myself, so you can admire my clearish skin and non-greasy hair. I did style it that time but mostly I don't  get the chance.

The only pic I have of myself, so you can admire my clearish skin and non-greasy hair. I did style it that time but mostly I don’t get the chance. Yeah I don’t have many pics and this is blurry but hopefully you get the picture.

 

Leave a Reply

