Mostly healthy caramel slice (rsf; gf, df, ef options)

20140921_132737

Oh the artiness of my food photography. How green with envy those “professional” bloggers must be.

For Father’s Day this year, I decided to put on a High Coffee for my husband and father. They’re both hard to buy for and we always go to Nanny and Grandpa’s house after Mass on a Sunday anyway, and they both like nice food. And coffee (we took our coffee machine). The only problem was that Grandpa does not like most of my food. He doesn’t believe that healthy and treat can be even related. And doesn’t like any of the gluten subs. And isn’t keen on coconut products (Nanny can’t stand coconut products but likes the rest ok). And would probably take sugar intravenously if he could. Maybe.

Amazing Husband is very keen on caramel slice and so am I. I was going to make a “normal” one but in the end couldn’t quite bring myself to do it, and also wanted to have a piece or two myself.

I’ve had the odd hankering for caramel slice in the 7 or 8 months I’ve been properly wheat and dairy free but have never come across a recipe I could be bothered with or that looked close enough to the real thing. Then my favourite Bin Inn posted a recipe for vegan caramel on their facebook page. I had happened to acquire some coconut sugar on a whim when I unexpectedly saw it at the supermarket (in the “normal” section, too – Pak ‘n Save Clarence St is getting pretty awesome) and had a few spare minutes so away I went. It was so yum I decided it was high time for a caramel slice recipe, so I did my usual “look at a bunch of recipes and take what I like and make up my own” thing. Grandpa didn’t approve it, unfortunately (apparently nowhere near sweet enough), but Amazing Husband and I thought it was quite close enough to the real thing, without the sugar shake aftermath.

For the base:

  • Melt 150g butter or coconut oil.
  • Mix in 3/4 cup almond meal (I ground some soaked and dehydrated almonds in my nifty little Breville coffee grinder) and
  • 3/4 cup oat flour (ditto). Use GF oats if required. It would probably also work well with buckwheat flour.
  • For egg free, you’re done. If you want the mixture to hold together a little better when cooked, mix in an egg. Personally I like the taste and texture of the egg free better, but it is more crumbly.
  • Bake at 180C until golden.

For the caramel

  • As per the Bin Inn instructions: “Simply combine 4 T of coconut oil, 3/4 C of coconut sugar and 1/2 c of coconut cream in a sauce pan over low heat. Allow this to cook for 5 minutes or so, whisking slowly until the mixture reaches a soft boil. Then add 1/4 t of vanilla essence or powder and a pinch of Himalayan salt. Turn up the heat to medium and allow the caramel to reach a boil, whisking gently. Once it begins to boil stop whisking for one minute. Remove from the heat and whisk until it becomes a smooth liquid again. Return the pot to the heat and allow the caramel to boil again for a minute, removing and whisking once again. You may need to repeat this step a third time. At this stage the mixture should be relatively thick, as it cools it will thicken more.”

To put it together:

  • Pour the caramel over the base and smooth it out, then sprinkle with dairy free chocolate chips (I use Equagold – available from Dante’s in Cambridge, Gilmours (much cheaper), and no doubt other places online), and cacao nibs.
  • Place in fridge or freezer to set. The caramel won’t go completely solid, even in the freezer.
  • Cut into whatever size pieces you want and enjoy.
Comments
3 Responses to “Mostly healthy caramel slice (rsf; gf, df, ef options)”
  1. Sarah Assen says:

    What do you mean ‘soaked and dehydrated’, it’s putting a pretzel in my head…

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] caramel slice. This disappeared quite […]



Leave a Reply

