Lord B turns 5

Kinda crazy to think I’ve been an active parent for 5 whole years now. I say active, because I was technically a parent from the moment he was conceived, only I didn’t have to do much till he was born. Well, I guess being semi healthy, and then labour and stuff, but ya know.

I was so brave this year. I made Lord B’s cake all by myself and even decorated it.

Who needs nasty food colouring and sugar laden icing to make a tractor cake? Not me!

Who needs nasty food colouring and sugar laden icing to make a tractor cake? Not me!

The cake was a paleo chocolate cake (this recipe, minus the molasses and cayenne). I was originally going to not ice it, and use coconut cream for the background of the tractor, but then I saw somewhere the title “avocado icing” and the light went off that the pudding I make out of avocado is a very icing-y texture. It’s basically 1-2 ripe avos, a bit of honey or maple syrup, and a bit of cocoa till you get the right taste and texture. Then raspberries and defrosted (and rather soggy, but nvm) blueberries to make the tractor. Lord B was quite satisfied (and I think a little proud of me – he told Nanny this morning that “Mummy made me a tractor cake all by herself!” – Mummy has previously always asked Auntie Sarah to do these tricky things). Cake was sadly gone by the evening 😦

I made a few platters.

I made a few platters.

Hummus (very easy – chickpeas, crushed garlic, acv (cos the boys don’t do citrus), a bit of roast pepper, tahini, salt, olive oil, whizz it up).

Peanut butter cups (melt pb and coconut oil, pour into moulds or cups, let set in freezer, melt chocolate or make homemade choc – I used coconut oil, cocoa butter, cocoa, and a couple of drops of stevia – and pour over, let set. The pb WILL melt at room temperature so make sure you eat them quickly if they’re not in cups of some description.

Meatballs. My sausage meat cake recipe (otherwise known as meatloaf, but it sells better to sausage and cake loving kids by my name). Mince, herbs, oat flour, eggs, garlic, onions. I’ll write it up properly one day.

Buckwheat choc chip biscuits.

Carrots. Don’t know their exact recipe.

Pizza bread. Basically this pizza dough with some nutritional yeast mixed in for a cheesy flavour.

Jelly bites. I used blueberries.

Also caramel slice. This disappeared quite quickly.

Also caramel slice. This disappeared quite quickly.

And some popcorn (popped in coconut oil) and gf df chips (ready salted, and Kettles S&V).

And some popcorn (popped in coconut oil) and gf df chips (ready salted, and Kettles S&V).

I also made some red juice (beetroot, apple, carrot) which I forgot to take a picture of. Cos red is Lord B’s favourite colour. Sir A will get kale in his 😀

Lord B was blessed with much lego, some of which is already lost. Le sigh. And some Bob the Builder vehicles. And today he had another birthday party at Nanny and Grandpa’s house, where he got a super cool parking garage. I was very impressed that he elected to wait till after Mass on Birthday Party Day to get the lego log truck (from us) that he’s been waiting for for so long. He couldn’t quite wait till his actual birthday but I think he doesn’t quite get the difference yet.

Comments
2 Responses to “Lord B turns 5”
  1. Thanks for linking back to my pizza crust. 🙂 Your tractor cake is very tasty looking. 😉

Leave a Reply

