Garden log 13/09/14

Ok, actually the pics are from a few days ago, but I didn’t get a chance to do anything with them.

I’ve finally started sorted out the garden again. I had been thinking something was off in it and eventually clicked that I was rotating my beds in the wrong direction. D’oh! I had spent so long working out a rotation and then gone with the direction I’d written things in, when I should have gone the other way. Le sigh.

Well, I thought, what to do? A couple of beds were already sown (garlic, for example, and kale). Fixing the rotation with those beds where they were was so not going to happen, so I decided to do things completely differently. I figured out which plants really don’t like each other, (tomatoes and peppers, apparently), and which like each other (the rest all at least tolerate each other, except the strawberries and garlic), and decided to do totally interplanted beds. One with the main plants a brassica and small things around it/them, then a solanum, and so on. The strawberries are now in a permanent bed in the hopes they don’t do such a good job taking everything over. The garlic I think I’ll keep where they are and sow a cover crop when they’ve been harvested. And I’m putting more flowers in the vege beds.

Example of a mixed bed.

Example of a mixed bed.

Example of a mixed bed.

Example of a mixed bed.

This is the second bed from above. I've got the celery in so far and am finishing off harvesting the carrots in there. The carrots have finally started growing again. It's definitely spring.

This is the second bed from above. I’ve got the celery in so far and am finishing off harvesting the carrots in there. The carrots have finally started growing again. It’s definitely spring.

This is the second bed from above. I've got the celery in so far and am finishing off harvesting the carrots in there. The carrots have finally started growing again. It's definitely spring.

This is the second bed from above. I’ve got the celery in so far and am finishing off harvesting the carrots in there. The carrots have finally started growing again. It’s definitely spring.

What is?

This was part of the flower garden. The soil was atrocious. It’s now full of compost and a lemon something herb I forget the name of, and will have gourds and other flowers/herbs.

Kale?

I read a cunning idea – put white flowered pansies with your brassicas and the cabbage white butterflies might think the territory is taken and move on. Worth a try. Damn slugs have been eating the petals, so I’ve mulched with either wood ash or coffee grinds. It will be interesting to see what effect the two different substances have. Seems to be keeping the slugs of for now.

Kale?

Again the coffee grind mulch. There are some wee beetroots next to the kale and a few old carrots Lord B sowed last autumn.

Silverbeet.

Going to have to be flexible with this bed. It was meant to be a spring manure/resting one, but the celery has started growing again and the silverbeet is doing really well too. I’m not sure if I want to transplant it all.

Strawbs.

Here are my strawberries. A couple of months and the bed will be green with their spawn. I have a row of allysum (bees love it) and dragon snaps (also good for bees, plus I love them, even though they’re looking a bit manky just now) to buffer them from the rest of the garden, though the closest plants are little lettuces this time round. (Lettuce and strawberries like each other. I tried to grow them in the same bed the last two years but the damn strawberries just take over.) Ashed them, too, in the hopes I get to eat them before the slugs get them.

Kale and pea

The wee lettuces again, plus the start of a pea plant next to some kale. Because the rotation was munted, the brassicas were preceding the legumes, instead of following them, so I’m hoping to sacrifice a few pea plants for the good of the kale. Also a couple of beetroot there.

overview.

Here’s how it looks in total. Those green things in the top left are grow bags – I’m doing potatoes this year, for the first time. They’re cunning contraptions whereby you can sow the patats at the bottom and cover them a little, and “mound up” as they grow. Apparently their porousness makes them excellent, and it’s much easier than building raised beds or growing them in the garden. It’s amazing how much more like a garden it looks when there aren’t so many weeds. Still heaps of work to go, but so nice to know what I’m doing now!

And a little postcript, a passionfruit vine I'm trying to grow in a pot on the deck. Hopefully I won't forget to water it...

And a little postcript, a passionfruit vine I’m trying to grow in a pot on the deck. Hopefully I won’t forget to water it…

Leave a Reply

