Wheat free sourdough

2014-09-12 15.53.16

I’ve had a couple of people wanting my sourdough recipe lately, so figured linking them to it would be much easier than searching messages for instructions or rewriting it each time I’m asked. Which may be never again, but if it’s not, I’m covered.

Making your own bread means you can avoid all the crap in commercial bread. Sourdough also means the grains are properly prepared and are much easier to digest.

There are a couple of different methods I’ve tried, and what I do now is much lazier than what I used to do in some ways, but it’s the only way I have time for . I’ll give you the “proper way” first, then what I do now.

Ingredients: 

  • sourdough starter (How to make a sourdough starter: http://www.weekendbakery.com/posts/rye-sourdough-starter-in-easy-steps/)
  • rye flour (I get organic stuff from Dinsdale Bin Inn – ideally I’d grind it fresh each time but haven’t got to doing that yet)
  • mixed seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, chia, flax)
  • olive oil
  • non-refined salt (I use Himalayan)
  • molasses

Method:

  • Mix 1 cup starter, 1 cup non-chlorinated water, 1 cup flour, 1 cup mixed seeds. Leave for 12-24 hours.
  • After 12-24 hours, add 1 tbsp olive oil, 1/4 tsp salt, 1 tbsp molasses, 2 cups rye flour, and enough unchlorinated water to make a thick batter. It needs to be only slightly wet – too wet and it won’t cook properly; too dry and it’ll crumble. You get the hang of the texture you need fairly quickly. Because of the low gluten content, it’ll never be like wheaten dough.
  • Bake till cooked. If you use a really hot oven and cover the baking thing for 40 min, then turn down to 180 for another 20 minutes, it usually works quite well. I just use the bake setting on my breadmaker.

 

My version

Ingredients:

  • sourdough starter
  • rye flour
  • buckwheat groats
  • mixed seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, chia, flax)
  • molasses

Method:

First, a justification for losing the oil and salt – they’re supposed to add texture (oil) and help with the rise (salt) but I found omitting them made no difference at all, and why do extra stuff if you don’t need to?

Due to current family circs, I don’t have time to do a double rise right now. I also can never be bothered using measuring utensils cos then I have to wash them.

  • In coffee grinder, grind 1/2 cup sunflower seeds, 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds, 1/2 mixed  flaxseed and chia seed, 1/2 cup buckwheat groats. I know it’s 1/2 cup cos there’s a line on my grinder for 1/2 cup. Otherwise just guesstimate. Sometimes I also add 1/2 cup millet but it tends to make the bread more crumbly.
  • In standing mixer with dough hooks (or do it by hand, it’s just harder work and you can’t do other things while the mixer works for you), place ground seeds and buckwheat. Add as much starter as you can (then feed the starter as much again), a cup or two of rye flour, and a bit of extra unchlorinated water. Ideally, remember to add a little molasses. I haven’t remembered for a while but it feeds the good bacteria a little and gives a lovely flavour – not molassesy; I don’t like molasses.
  • Mix up till well combined and not too wet, adding more water or flour as required.
  • Leave for 12-24 hours.
  • Bake as above.

Notes:

  • The unchlorinated water thing is so the chlorine doesn’t kill the good stuff. I have to say I usually just use my tap water, which we still haven’t got around to filtering, and it hasn’t killed the starter yet. You can get rid of chlorine by leaving water out for 24+ hours or boil for 5 minutes.
  • Much easier to cut when not hot.
  • It won’t rise much cos the rye and stuff makes it super dense.
  • I add all the extra stuff to reduce the gluten content as much as possible. We all seem fine with rye, but no point having more gluten than we really need.
  • The starter pre-digests everything nicely so most people can eat sourdough without trouble.

2014-09-12 15.53.25

Leave a Reply

