My favourite kitchen appliances

Since learning a few things about nutrition, I’ve come to consider a few kitchen items a necessity.

My dehydrator. This is an

My dehydrator. This is an Excalibur. They are not cheap, but all nuts, seeds, legumes, and grains should be soaked prior to consumption due to anti-nutrients such as phytic acid. To make them storable if you’re not going to consume them straight away, they need to be dried; a dehydrator does this at a temperature that preserves the nutrition and doesn’t turn the oils rancid. I soak and dehydrate pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, nuts, and oats before I use them. Haven’t figured out how to rinse tiny/gelatinous seeds yet.

My coffe grinder.

My coffee grinder. This is a Breville. Ideally I’d have fancy, electric mills for seeds and grains, but this does an amazing job at turning nuts, seeds, oats, buckwheat, even corn into flour. It’s a bit of a hassle cos you can only do a small amount at a time, but it’s MUCH more cost effective than fancy mills. I got mine for $30 on trademe. A lot of seeds don’t exactly get digested (I’ll spare you the details) unless they’re ground.

My juicer. This is a Compact. It's not the flashest on the market, but it does the job. I can get all sorts of veges in the boys (and us, for that matter) via the juicer.

My juicer. This is a Compact. It’s not the flashest on the market, but it does the job. I can get all sorts of veges in the boys (and us, for that matter) via the juicer.

This isn't a hippie thing, really, but I use it daily and it makes my life a LOT easier. My stick blender. I use it to make pizza sauce (pureed onions and greens are considered acceptable to the boys), avocado puddings, pikelet/pancake mixes, and heaps of other stuff. Got a few recipes for some of them, if I ever get the computer long enough to write them up!

This isn’t a hippie thing, really, but I use it daily and it makes my life a LOT easier. My stick blender. I use it to make pizza sauce (pureed onions and greens are considered acceptable to the boys), avocado puddings, pikelet/pancake mixes, bean “hummus”, mayonnaise right in the jar, and heaps of other stuff. Got a few recipes for some of them, if I ever get the computer long enough to write them up!

Leave a Reply

