DIY MATTRESS PROTECTOR

The nice, fancy, not inexpensive brolly sheet I used on my bed when Sir A slept there was past its use by date and I knew I’d need one for Lady S, but didn’t feel like buying a new one. Enter cunning idea.

The waterproof layer of the brolly sheet was still good, so I extricated it from the rest, acquired a very nice double sheet from an opshop and folded it in half, sandwiched a less-than-amazing bath sheet between them, and sewed them together.

Hardly a fancy looking edge, but it works.

Hardly a fancy looking edge, but it works.

Then I sewed whole lot of poppers along the bottom. My main objection to brolly sheets is that they take a really long time to dry. As a result, I hadn’t washed it very often, since it was used all night and for naps. It got ew, I tried to sun bleach it, it got mildewy cos there was more rain than sun, and was then much more ew. With one edge open, it can be spread out nicely so it dries way faster.

Took quite a while to sew all those one. And I don't think they're really necessary after all. Because the top layer is the one that gets tucked into the sides of the bed, it holds all the rest down.

Took quite a while to sew all those one. And I don’t think they’re really necessary after all. Because the top layer is the one that gets tucked into the sides of the bed, it holds all the rest down.

Now I’m not going to lie. This thing is not perfect, but it does the job, and the sheet is amazing quality so really nice and soft. Moreover, it’s cheap and I got to repurpose stuff 😀

(I thought of taking a picture of it on the bed, but then you might see how messy it all is and plus it would require me putting it on. I’m sure you’ll live.)

 

Leave a Reply

