SOURDOUGH SCONES/”HOT CROSS BUNS”

So easy you can’t go wrong. I don’t think. All you need is oat flour (whizz oats in the food processor or blender till as fine as it’ll get), water kefirdried fruit and spices, and a dash of molasses for hot cross buns.

I virtuously ground this lot by hand, but the food processor does just as good a job.

I virtuously ground this lot by hand, but the food processor does just as good a job, if not better.

Add some water kefir.

Add some water kefir.

Top up with non-chlorinated water (you can just leave it uncovered in a bowl or something for 24 hours and the chlorine evaporates) and mix well. It's quite runny at this point. Leave for 24 hours or so then add enough more oat flour  to make thickish mixture. Add any dried fruite and spices you want. Leave for 24 hours more.

Top up with non-chlorinated water (you can just leave it uncovered in a bowl or something for 24 hours and the chlorine evaporates) and mix well. It’s quite runny at this point. Leave for 24 hours or so then add enough more oat flour to make thickish mixture. Add any dried fruit and spices you want, plus a dash of molasses for hot cross buns. I used LOTS of cinnamon, and some allspice and cloves. Leave for 24 hours more.

 

This is how it looks pre-baking.

This is how it looks pre-baking.

Make into balls and cut crosses in them if you're pretending they're hot cross buns. I might have done something fancier but I was dealing with a baby that needed my attention every 3 minutes at the same time and didn't have all day.

Make into balls and cut crosses in them if you’re pretending they’re hot cross buns. I might have done something fancier but I was dealing with a baby that needed my attention every 3 minutes at the same time and didn’t have all day. Hence also the blurriness. Hard to take pictures while holding a baby.

The finished product. They taste a lot like hot cross buns bun the texture is of course different. The kids love them and so did my nextdoor neighbour, who isn't used to my weird baking, so there.

The finished product. They taste a lot like hot cross buns bun the texture is of course different. The kids love them and so did my nextdoor neighbour, who isn’t used to my weird baking, so there.

Leave a Reply

