Garden log 04/02/14

Yeah it’s been a while. I haven’t had a whole heap of time for gardening and plus having a giant stomach makes it kinda awkward. A wonderful friend is coming over to help me catch up a bit tomorrow, but here’s how we stand for now.

Lord B's tomato plant I managed to mostly prune and restake it last week but it still needs a bit of work. These plants are seriously insane. They also self seed like nobody's business.

Lord B’s tomato plant. I managed to mostly prune and restake it last week but it still needs a bit of work. These plants are seriously insane. They also self seed like nobody’s business. The purple basil isn’t doing as well as I’d hoped but it does tend to get hammered by the hose when the boys are playing in the sandpit…

my beans and peas, plus a whole of weeds and a few random dill plants that sowed themselves.

My beans and peas, plus a whole lot of weeds and a few random dill plants that sowed themselves.

 

I let the boys go wild with a couple of packets of sunflower seeds and a packet of carrot seeds. Lord B sowed all the carrot seeds in a few small spots, which will turn out interesting. They did a few spots each of the sunflower seeds - getting big slowly. I really need to do these things earlier in the season...

I let the boys go wild with a couple of packets of sunflower seeds and a packet of carrot seeds. Lord B sowed all the carrot seeds in a few small spots, which will turn out interesting. They did a few spots each of the sunflower seeds – getting big slowly. I really need to do these things earlier in the season…

One tiiiiiny butternut. My gourds have been less than impressive so far this year. Perhaps the soil isn't quite nutritious enough. Annoying though.

Wow that’s blurry. One tiiiiiny butternut. My gourds have been less than impressive so far this year. Perhaps the soil isn’t quite nutritious enough. Annoying though.

Kale. There are plenty of little seedlings popping up too, that seem to have come from the plants I left for so long. They're also trying to establish themselves in a solanum bed.

Kale. There are plenty of little seedlings popping up too, that seem to have come from the plants I left for so long. They’re also trying to establish themselves in a solanum bed.

Beets, celery, onions that I probably should harvest... I went away for a week, and it rained most of that time, so when I got back the silverbeet was the biggest it's ever managed to get.

Beets, celery, onions that I probably should harvest… I went away for a week, and it rained most of that time, so when I got back the silverbeet was the biggest it’s ever managed to get.

Solanum bed number 1 - one job for tomorrow is weeding the weedy bit, transplanting the few beets left in there, and putting in the chillies and eggplant.

Solanum bed number 1 – one job for tomorrow is weeding the weedy bit, transplanting the few beets left in there, and putting in the chillies and eggplant.

I've almost finished harvesting the carrots from the old bed (got 2-3 left) and this lot are looking good, though not sure if they're ready to harvest yet. Need to sow some more tomorrow.

I’ve almost finished harvesting the carrots from the old bed (got 2-3 left) and this lot are looking good, though not sure if they’re ready to harvest yet. Need to sow some more tomorrow.

My broccoli have been sprouting for a few weeks now :D I'm excessively pleased, even though one is still all leaf and the rest haven't produced heaps so far, but a stalk most nights in the juice is always good :)

My broccoli have been sprouting for a few weeks now 😀 I’m excessively pleased, even though one is still all leaf and the rest haven’t produced heaps so far, but a stalk most nights in the juice is always good 🙂

Most of my wretched lettuce bolted but I put some new ones in. I'm going to let these ones go to seed and see if they provide me with some labour-free plants later. The strawberries behind them are doing well in leafage but only producing small fruit. The boys enjoy them though.

Most of my wretched lettuce bolted but I put some new ones in. I’m going to let these ones go to seed and see if they provide me with some labour-free plants later. The strawberries behind them are doing well in leafage but only producing small fruit. The boys enjoy them though.

Solanum bed number 2. Got a few little capsicums growing and the eggplant is flowering.

Solanum bed number 2. Got a few little capsicums growing and the eggplant is flowering.

It's actually looking a bit like a garden instead of a jumble of weeds at the moment. Pleasing.

It’s actually looking a bit like a garden instead of a jumble of weeds at the moment. Pleasing.

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Garden log 04/02/14”
  1. The Editors of Garden Variety says:

    Very productive looking garden.

Leave a Reply

