Super easy (and delicious) burger patties (allergen friendly)

I’m leaving my husband in charge of the house for 6 days next week. He really likes instructions to be written down, so I thought I’d better do that for a few recipes. I’ll have to add pictures later.

This recipe will do us for two dinners – two adults and two kids with fairly decent portion sizes.

Ingredients:

  • large pack of mince (1kgish)
  • 2-3 onions
  • head of garlic
  • handful of various herbs from the garden or a couple of pinches of dried

Method:

  • Start an hour before you want to eat.
  • If you want homemade chips with your patties, switch oven onto 180 fanbake, put some coconut oil in large stainless steel dish in the oven, wash requisite number of spuds, chop into chips, and chuck them in the oven. Once all the oil is properly melted you’ll want to mix the chips to get them well coated. Add more oil if required.
  • Peel onions and garlic. Chop onions very roughly.
  • Place 2 onions in mini food processor and chop till pureed.
  • Add rest of onions, garlic, and herbs. Chop until pureed. Switch on the stoveplate with the frying pan waiting on it (we use cast iron and it’s always ready and waiting).
  • Place in a large bowl with mince and mix by hand till it’s all properly smushed up.
  • Form into quite flat patties and put in as many as will fit once the pan is heated. I tend to do a mixture of small and large for a mixture of small and large people.
  • Once they’re cooked on one side, place rack thing over the potatoes in the pan, flip the patties over and place on rack – they’ll finish cooking in the oven without drying out too much. (If you don’t have all the bits and piece I’m referring to, ad lib, or have two pans on the stove to cut down cooking time. You’ll figure something out.)
  • Keep going with the patties till you run out of mixture or time.
  • Serve with your favourite condiments, vege juice, salad, or whatever you like. We don’t do buns since we’re wheatfree and I can’t be bothered making my own. We do make our own mayo. YUM.

Both the boys wolfed these down. I was most pleased. I’ve discovered that if I puree onions I can add them to stuff and they’re happy. I hated the texture as a kid so I don’t really blame then for not wanting them as is.

If you have leftover meat just put it in the fridge and use it for lunches or another dinner 🙂

Leave a Reply

