Garden log 11/12/13

My garden is a mess. It looks like a mass of grass and no heaps else. But there's quite a lot edible in there atm :)

My garden is a mess. It kinda looks like a mass of grass and not heaps else. But there’s quite a lot edible in there atm πŸ™‚

I'm feeling most pleased with my lettuces. Last year in interplanted them with the stawberries, which seems a great idea at the time. The lettuces ended up getting taken over and providing little food cos strawberries are just insane. The strawberries are also doing better this year, having been planted from runners and recently fed with blood and bone. The first few of the season were super tiny but they're slowly getting bigger. I'm going to have to rework their cage (ugh) before they outgrow it cos it won't be much use if all the flowers and fruit start sticking out the holes :s

I’m feeling most pleased with my lettuces. Last year I interplanted them with the strawberries, which seemed a great idea at the time. The lettuces ended up getting taken over and providing little food cos strawberries are just insane. The strawberries are also doing better this year, having been planted from runners (rather than old, secondhand plants) and recently fed with blood and bone. The first few of the season were super tiny but they’re slowly getting bigger. I’m going to have to rework their cage (ugh) before they outgrow it cos it won’t be much use if all the flowers and fruit start sticking out the holes :s

 

My beetroots are still pretty lame but the silverbeet is still producing well, even though some is trying to go to seed. The new ones in the bed I'm slowly clearing of carrots are coming along slowly. Too slowly for my taste, cos I'm going to need this bed for peppers soon. I might try and transplant some of the plants that aren't attempting to flower once I've cleared most of the carrots out of the old bed... this rotation thing is tricky!

My beetroots are still pretty lame but the silverbeet are still producing well, even though some are trying to go to seed. The new ones in the bed I’m slowly clearing of carrots are coming along slowly. Too slowly for my taste, cos I’m going to need this bed for peppers soon. I might try and transplant some of the plants that aren’t attempting to flower once I’ve cleared most of the carrots out of the old bed… this rotation thing is tricky!

The kale is all well and truly gone, but the one that's still flowering is still fairly leafy and I'm harvesting as much as I can before it's too late, then I'll replace them with some seedlings I have waiting.

The kale is all well and truly gone, but the one that’s still flowering is still fairly leafy and I’m harvesting as much as I can before it’s too late, then I’ll replace them with some seedlings I have waiting.

Most of my carrots are trying to flower too. I'm letting a couple do it and if I'm organised enough I'll transplant the into the new carrot bed before they go to seed, so the seeds fall in the bed and save me some work :D

Most of my carrots are trying to flower too. I’m letting a couple do it and if I’m organised enough I’ll transplant them into the new carrot bed before they go to seed, so the seeds fall in the bed and save me some work πŸ˜€

Speaking of the new carrot bed, it's finally started getting carrots in it. I'd pretty much given up on the first 2-3 rounds of seeds I'd sown when they suddenly started germinating. Of course it doesn't help that they're competing with borage and buckwheat seedlings that have appeared from nowhere, but I harvest the borage when it's small and chuck in our evening juice and the buckwheat can just go under the broccoli next door as a bit of mulch.

Speaking of the new carrot bed, it’s finally started getting carrots in it. I’d pretty much given up on the first 2-3 rounds of seeds I’d sown when they suddenly started germinating. Of course it doesn’t help that they’re competing with borage and buckwheat seedlings that have appeared from nowhere, but I harvest the borage when it’s small and chuck it in our evening juice, and the buckwheat can just go under the broccoli next door as a bit of mulch.

And here's the broccoli. Getting massive, but not yet doing anything. It's amazing how big they get! I have fed them with blood and bone, too, so hoping they'll sprout for me soon and not just be all leaf like last year.

And here’s the broccoli. Getting massive, but not yet doing anything. It’s amazing how big they get! I have fed them with blood and bone, too, so hoping they’ll sprout for me soon and not just be all leaf like last year. The half weeded bed in front of the broccoli I sowed with a green manure mix today and then cunningly covered with soil-coloured mulch in the hopes the birds wouldn’t notice. And now I have a good excuse to not finish weeding it till it sprouts (cos otherwise I wouldn’t know which bit had been sown already, you see).

 

Lord B's tomato is doing well. I've already had to prune it and stick in more stakes. Soon I'll have to stick in a couple more and cover it and hopefully the first little cherries will be ripe (and not guzzled by birds) for Christmas Even salad :D

Lord B’s tomato is doing well. I’ve already had to prune it and stick in more stakes. Soon I’ll have to stick in a couple more and cover it and hopefully the first little cherries will be ripe (and not guzzled by birds) for Christmas Eve dinner salad πŸ˜€

My garlic is definitely ready to harvest but I haven't finished all the weeding and other odd maintenance jobs which seem more pressing... maybe this afternoon....

My garlic is definitely ready to harvest but I haven’t finished all the weeding and other odd maintenance jobs which seem more pressing… maybe this afternoon….

I did harvest one plant just to see how big it was. I'm feeling quite pleased. At least twice as big as last year, though this is not surprising since last year I just used random bits of earth instead of my beautifully rich and nutritious vege garden (owing to it not existing yet).

I did harvest one plant just to see how big it was. I’m feeling quite pleased. At least twice as big as last year, though this is not surprising since last year I just used random bits of earth instead of my beautifully rich and nutritious vege garden (owing to it not existing yet).

I also harvest an onion to see if they were ready yet. I'm going with not. Then I left it and the garlic to dry a bit before hanging them, only it rained for several days and the onion got all creepy cos the roots were still in contact with water. Thankfully it stopped being creepy when the water went away.

I also harvested an onion to see if they were ready yet. I’m going with not. Then I left it and the garlic to dry a bit before hanging them, only it rained for several days and the onion got all creepy cos the roots were still in contact with water. Thankfully it stopped being creepy when the water went away.

 

My beautiful nettles! I'm feeling so pleased to finally have a nettle patch, especially one that's growing so fast! And it even requires no maintenance (though I should weed it a bit at some point).

My beautiful nettles! I’m feeling so pleased to finally have a nettle patch, especially one that’s growing so fast! And it even requires no maintenance (though I should weed it a bit at some point).

 

And one of my herb beds. I'm just excited cos the chamomile finally started flowering :) It's a total mess in there, too, though.

And one of my herb beds. I’m just excited cos the chamomile finally started flowering πŸ™‚ It’s a total mess in there, too, though.

Finally, a few pictures from various angles, so you can admire the overgrownness of the grasses around it and the general ramshackle nature of it all. There’s order in there, I promise.

2013-12-11 10.27.47 2013-12-11 10.28.04 2013-12-11 10.28.13

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

