Garden log 11/11/13

Well what with all the Montessori-ing I’ve been doing in the last couple of weeks, I neglected the garden a bit. But yesterday and today I got a little bit done.

My garden is a bit like my head at the moment. Some is really orderly  and sorted, and some is half organised, and lots is just overgrown mess that really needs sorting but it's kinda hard to find the time.

My garden is a bit like my head at the moment. Some is really orderly and sorted, and some is half organised, and lots is just overgrown mess that really needs sorting but it’s kinda hard to find the time.

If you look closely you can see some pea and bean seedlings among the weeds, lady's bonnet, and leftover giant radishes.

If you look closely you can see some pea and bean seedlings among the weeds, lady’s bonnet, and leftover giant radishes.

Half my beetroot, the perpetual spinach (perpetual, eh?) and a couple of silverbeet are attempting to go to seed. I kinda had this idea that they'd just keep growing until I pulled them out, but it turns out the spring instinct is remarkably strong. A pesk, cos the beet roots are way too tough to use in juice even.

Half my beetroot, the perpetual spinach (perpetual, eh?) and a couple of silverbeet are attempting to go to seed. I kinda had this idea that they’d just keep growing until I pulled them out, but it turns out the spring instinct is remarkably strong. A pesk, cos the beet roots are way too tough to use in juice even.

I weeded here today. Now it's actually possible to see the celery. Some of the onions are looking quite big - I must find out when they're meant to come out! And the garlic is looking nearly ready to harvest, though it's not meant to be done till midsummer. But I did plant them early. The stalks are seriously fat so I'm hoping the bulbs match!

I weeded here today. Now it’s actually possible to see the celery. Some of the onions are looking quite big – I must find out when they’re meant to come out! And the garlic is looking nearly ready to harvest, though it’s not meant to be done till midsummer. But I did plant them early. The stalks are seriously fat so I’m hoping the bulbs match!

Crazy Cavalo Nero I haven't done anything with yet, plus some nice nasturtiums and red kale that keeps trying to flower also, but I've convinced it not to so far...

Crazy Cavalo Nero I haven’t done anything with yet, plus some nice nasturtiums and red kale that keeps trying to flower also, but I’ve convinced it not to so far…

I bought some pepper seedlings today. Mine are still midgets and they're so expensive to buy, yet so useful! I tried to interest Sir A in choosing a plant for himself but playing with the trolley over a drain grate was far more interesting.

I bought some pepper seedlings today. Mine are still midgets and they’re so expensive to buy, yet so useful! I tried to interest Sir A in choosing a plant for himself but playing with the trolley over a drain grate was far more interesting.

If you look reaaaally carefully you can see some gourds in here. The mass of green is some chamomile I pulled out just to cover the bare earth. The gourds are where there's straw. They don't seem to have particularly enjoyed being transplanted but I'm hoping they survive.

If you look reaaaally carefully you can see some gourds in here. The mass of green is some chamomile I pulled out just to cover the bare earth. The gourds are where there’s straw. They don’t seem to have particularly enjoyed being transplanted but I’m hoping they survive.

I also bought a cucumber today. It's in random borrowed bed, or it would have ended up next to my gherkin, which would probably have ended in interesting fruits.

I also bought a cucumber today. It’s in random borrowed bed, or it would have ended up next to my gherkin, which would probably have ended in interesting fruits.

Can you see the caterpillar?? The swan plants are starting to get their funny lantern things. Hopefully more caterpillars will come.

Can you see the caterpillar?? The swan plants are starting to get their funny lantern things. Hopefully more caterpillars will come.

The broccoli I planted a couple of weeks ago are getting nice and big. I just hope they aren't going to be all leaf :(

The broccoli I planted a couple of weeks ago are getting nice and big. I just hope they aren’t going to be all leaf 😦

Pretty much everything in here has germinated and I can't be bothered keeping the ones that haven't indoors, so I'll leave them there till the weekend, then plant then out if it's not raining, and sow a bunch more when the trays are free again.

Pretty much everything in here has germinated and I can’t be bothered keeping the ones that haven’t indoors, so I’ll leave them there till the weekend, then plant then out if it’s not raining, and sow a bunch more when the trays are free again.

Oooh oooh! First almost-ripe strawberry! I do hope they're not all going to be that small though.

Oooh oooh! First almost-ripe strawberry! I do hope they’re not all going to be that small though.

I was too lazy to go get a picture of the comfrey hanging out elsewhere in the garden, but here are my nettles. The much wanted nettles that I ended up having to buy as plants because the damn seedlings always died. They've grown quite a bit since I planted them. They're next to the pergola, so at some stage I'll probably need to put up a decent screen so people don't accidentally touch them when they've taken over :)

I was too lazy to go get a picture of the comfrey hanging out elsewhere in the garden, but here are my nettles. The much wanted nettles that I ended up having to buy as plants because the damn seedlings always died. They’ve grown quite a bit since I planted them. They’re next to the pergola, so at some stage I’ll probably need to put up a decent screen so people don’t accidentally touch them when they’ve taken over 🙂

Oh, and don’t even talk to me about carrots. It’s a bitter subject.

Leave a Reply

