Garden log 20/10/13

With a mix of crappy weather, getting the boys’ room sorted, spending time with Sir A at Montessori, and general other busyness (oh yeah, also the week of school holiday), I had been a bit slack in the garden lately. This weekend we had fantabulous weather for the most part, and it coincided with having very little planned. I made the most of it.

An overview of what was happening:

You'll see a few seedling punnets about - we went to our favourite cafe in the morning (it's great for kids) which conveniently happens to have a garden centre attached.

You’ll see a few seedling punnets about – we went to our favourite cafe in the morning (it’s great for kids) which conveniently happens to have a garden centre attached.

2013-10-19 15.53.15

My beets are looking good. I gave them a couple of weeks' rest from being plucked so they could grow a bit.

My beets are looking good. I gave them a couple of weeks’ rest from being plucked so they could grow a bit.

Feeling fairly smug about my garlic still. Just hoping it'll actually match the leaves when I pull it up.

Feeling fairly smug about my garlic still. Just hoping it’ll actually match the leaves when I pull it up.

Kale beds are fairly messy. I've since pulled out most of the nasturtium and weeded. The nasturtiums I chucked around my lemon tree (which is still pitiful, but it seems the boys can't tolerate lemon - le sigh - so meh. They'll either rot nicely or reroot. I'm going with reroot.

Kale beds are fairly messy. I’ve since pulled out most of the nasturtium and weeded. The nasturtiums I chucked around my lemon tree (which is still pitiful, but it seems the boys can’t tolerate lemon – le sigh – so meh. They’ll either rot nicely or reroot. I’m going with reroot.

And angled view.

An angled view.

My "carrot" bed. I use inverted commas because an entire packet has gone in there, and I thought I saw signs of germination. But no. Have now put some from a new packet it. They'd better damn well germinate.

My “carrot” bed. I use inverted commas because an entire packet of seeds has gone in there, and I thought I saw signs of germination. But no. Have now put some from a new packet in. They’d better damn well germinate.

Bought a sage and some fennel to fill in the gaps of my little herb bed. The thyme is looking great and the oregano finally has biggish leaves. Chives doing well too.

Bought a sage and some fennel to fill in the gaps of my little herb bed. The thyme is looking great and the oregano finally has biggish leaves. Chives doing well too. I have now planted the seedlings.

I mentioned last time that I'd put some bergamot seeds in next to the parsley and drain. In the meantime, the boys have turned part of that bed into a floodzone (along with the rains, it must be admitted, but their "excavations" have made the already crappy soil even less capable of draining). This afternoon I put some bricks after the parsley and they seemed to dam the water enough that it'll stop getting flooded.

I mentioned last time that I’d put some bergamot seeds in next to the parsley and drain. In the meantime, the boys have turned part of that bed into a floodzone (along with the rains, it must be admitted, but their “excavations” have made the already crappy soil even less capable of draining). This afternoon I put some bricks after the parsley and they seemed to dam the water enough that it’ll stop getting flooded.

Here's a random pic from the deck. Pre-weeding.

Here’s a random pic from the deck. Pre-weeding.

And onto what I actually did with proof.

First I got some fresh seeds sowed. I hadn't done any for a while and it was really about time. There were also a few things I'd been hopefully direct sowing that refused to germinate so needed to stop being lazy about that. The gourd seedlings went into the mini greenhouse to harden off and I prepared(ish) their beds today.

First I got some fresh seeds sowed. I hadn’t done any for a while and it was really about time. There were also a few things I’d been hopefully direct-sowing that refused to germinate, so needed to stop being lazy about that. The gourd seedlings went into the mini greenhouse to harden off and I prepared(ish) their beds today.

I pulled out most of the radishes. Yeah, that's my foot, and it's not a very small one. I didn't measure it, but it's two bricklengths.

I pulled out most of the radishes. Some broke. Oh well. Yeah, that’s my foot, and it’s not a particularly small one. I didn’t measure it, but it’s two bricklengths.

2013-10-19 17.13.05

I also pulled out the small ones in other beds today. Even some of them were pretty long.

I planted out the lettuces. There were WAY more than I thought, but currently they aren't looking so good so I might well need to put in the spares...

I planted out the lettuces. There were WAY more than I thought, but currently they aren’t looking so good so I might well need to put in the spares…

Took out all the celery, carrots, and garlic and weeded, so I could compost and plant the broccoli seedlings. I also pulled out the perfidious broccoli that I so proudly announced last time was heading. No, it was preparing to flower. Last time I trust a broccoli.

Took out all the celery, carrots, and garlic and weeded, so I could compost and plant the broccoli seedlings. I also pulled out the perfidious broccoli that I so proudly announced last time was heading. No, it was preparing to flower. Last time I trust a broccoli.

This is where all the celery went. With the onions and garlic. Bed still needs a bit of weeding though :( They're not looking like they super enjoyed the move, but the others I've transplanted were fine so I think they'll be ok.

This is where all the celery went. With the onions and garlic. Bed still needs a bit of weeding though 😦 They’re not looking like they super enjoyed the move, but the others I’ve transplanted were fine so I think they’ll be ok.

I also got rid of a whole lot of onionweed and bits and pieces of other weeding today. And discovered, to my delight, that the comfrey I thought had disappeared forever has come back (a bit of weeding always helps!) which pleases me greatly.

Think that’s about it for now. By the weekend I hope to have planted the swan plants and some bergamot I got yesterday, and put in the gourds. Plus done a whole lot more weeding. Wretched weeds.

Leave a Reply

