Boys’ room makeover

In preparation for the impending arrival (well, we have about 4 months to go), Sir A has been moved in with Lord B. He now sleeps through the night fairly consistently (I really must finish that draft…) and I wanted to do it as early as possible so we could get them sleeping together and without Daddy, so I have him as my nappy changing slave at night after Ophelia Podalyria arrives. No, that’s not her real name; my dad comes up with random Latin in utero names for all the children.

So, in order to make the change more appealing to both of them, we came up with some ideas for coolifying the bedroom. I procrastinated it all rather a lot, with the deadline of daylight savings in mind, but daylight savings came a week early for some reason so I had to hustle and bustle to get it done quicksmart and not too many days late.

Before I display the awesomeness, a few notes. I think the whole makeover cost around $150. Under $200, at any rate. I used whatever I could find around the house, which unfortunately wasn’t that much. The blinds were by far the most expensive part – close to $100 for fabric, cords, velcro etc. The paint was around $40 maybe – just some tester pots. The little chairs were on special for $30 each. Yeah I guess that’s closer to $200.

Before

Two beds next to each other. Didn't maximise space at all.

Two beds next to each other. Didn’t maximise space at all.

Semi-successful skylight cover with what was available at the time. Pretty bland colours.

Semi-successful skylight cover with what was available at the time. Pretty bland colours.

Lovely dormer window, but not much exciting or interesting about it.

Lovely dormer window, but not much exciting or interesting about it.

Enter my magnificent imagination:

I acquired fabric in their favourite colours and decided to stencil it with trains to make it more interesting.

Searched the interwebs till I found a train I liked (Lord B helped me choose between my top 3), stuck it to a piece of rubber foam I got off trademe for cheap, and spent a looong time cutting it out. Headache inducing work indeed.

Searched the interwebs till I found a train picture I liked (Lord B helped me choose between my top 3), stuck it to a piece of rubber foam I got off trademe for cheap, and spent a looong time cutting it out. Headache inducing work indeed.

Before the wondrous blinds are revealed, I also wanted trains on the walls. It took a surprisingly short amount of time to do all these, plus more on the other walls.

Before the wondrous blinds are revealed, I also wanted trains on the walls. It took a surprisingly short amount of time to do all these, plus more on the other walls. Maximum 2 hours. (Note the trains in the corner: their favourite toys, hence the theme.)

One blind.

Tada! One blind. And more wall trains.

More wall trains, plus a hanging my mother made when Lord B was a baby - finally on the wall!

More wall trains, plus a hanging my mother made when Lord B was a baby – finally on the wall!

The new bed arrangement. Sir A has also now been gifted a new duvet cover. Much more floor space, which includes a road mat thing I didn't take a picture of.

The new bed arrangement. Sir A has also now been gifted a new duvet cover. Much more floor space, which includes a road mat thing I didn’t take a picture of. That bedrail is great. Sir A would fall out of bed many times a night without. It was mine as a child. We slept very similarly…

What's behind those curtains, you ask? (I recycled stuff for those - :D)

What’s behind those curtains, you ask? (I recycled stuff for those – :D)

Voila! A preschooler sized library, hiding cunningly away. My kids both still LOVE peekaboo games.

Voila! A preschooler sized library, hiding cunningly away. My kids both still LOVE peekaboo games.

And the view with the blind shut.

And the view with the blind shut.

Sir A checking it out.

Sir A checking it out. It’s modelled on the library corners they have at school (Sir A has just started – more on that another time) but with a less awesome shelf. But hey, it fits the colour scheme and was already in the room 🙂

New skylight cover. Vive la France! Yeah, I forgot to take into account seam allowances when buying the red and blue, and didn't have quite enough. But the middle panel matches one of the hidey curtains :D I was also super cunning and put some silver stuff on the back, as that skylight gets the full afternoon sun. Just to minimise the large amounts of heat that get stored in there as much as possible.

New skylight cover. Vive la France! Yeah, I forgot to take into account seam allowances when buying the red and blue, and didn’t have quite enough. But the middle panel matches one of the hidey curtains 😀 I was also super cunning and put some silver stuff on the back, as that skylight gets the full afternoon sun. Just to minimise the large amounts of heat that get stored in there as much as possible.

And finally, a few actions shot of two happy boys.

2013-10-04 19.29.44 2013-10-04 19.29.53 2013-10-04 19.30.10

They seem pretty used to it now, though Sir A is still annoying his brother a lot a bedtime. To be expected, really. Poor Lord B actually had more trouble adjusting than Sir A, but that’s also to be expected given their personalities. And the best part? Now when they feel like bouncing on beds and reading each other stories they go up there and leave mine alone 😀 I treated myself to new bed linen (don’t judge – I’ve never bought myself any before) to celebrate and my bed actually stays made now. It is truly most pleasing.

And in slightly related news, we’ve finally stopped putting Sir A in nappies at night after at least two months of no accidents. Guess it really is time for another baby.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
One Response to “Boys’ room makeover”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] a mix of crappy weather, getting the boys’ room sorted, spending time with Sir A at Montessori, and general other busyness (oh yeah, also the week […]



Leave a Reply

