Garden log 25/09/13

I’ve had a busy morning in the garden. I should really be making myself something to eat but I can’t be bothered. Maybe I’ll have some more chocolate in the interim.

We’ve had a couple of cold days and nights since my last update, but on the whole it’s been warmish and wet. Excellent news for my leafy greens, and also helpful in getting things germinating. It’s meant to stay this way for a few more days so I thought I’d better sow as much as possible to take advantage.

My beetroot and silverbeet are just germinating, so I’ll do the next lot of them in a week or two. Carrots seem to be showing their tips but I chucked another lot of them in anyway. Some of the lettuce seeds have germinated but some not. I’ll give them a little longer. The celery hasn’t yet but it takes a good couple of weeks. Unfortunately I checked to see if carrots and celery like each and they don’t, so I’ll have to move them once they’re viable. Transplanted a couple of last year’s celery into the onion/garlic bed. There’s space so it works out well.

Pardon the funny angle. This is my VILE nettle. Dead. After I nursed it ALL winter. Have given up on seedling inside and chucked some seeds straight into the bed. Doubt they'll do anything though.

Pardon the funny angle. This is my VILE nettle. Dead. After I nursed it ALL winter. Have given up on seedling inside and chucked some seeds straight into the bed. Doubt they’ll do anything though.

Various nightshades.

Various nightshades.

Gourds. I just turned the thing around but they were getting very excited about the window. I might be brave and plant them out next month.

Gourds. I just turned the thing around but they were getting very excited about the window. I might be brave and plant them out next month.

The garlic that was intentional (as opposed to the cheeky stuff that sprouted when I thought it was dead) is looking great. Some of the onions are starting to look quite nice too :)

The garlic that was intentional (as opposed to the cheeky stuff that sprouted when I thought it was dead) is looking great. Some of the onions are starting to look quite nice too 🙂

The kale and broccoli I sowed last time seems to be getting somewhere but I didn’t look super closely.

So, this time I’ve sown (outside):

More Gaura the Bride, Swan Plant, and Bishop’s Flower. I used seed raising mix and the weather is better so hopefully they’ll germinate this time instead of just more random buckwheat.

Speaking of buckwheat, I sowed some of that where it’s meant to be. Once it’s run its course (doesn’t take that long –  a month or so), I’ll sow a carbon or legume mix in that bed. Once I’ve relocated the kale and the beets, those beds will also be green manure beds.

I sowed marigolds in almost all the bed dividers. Hopefully they also germinate this time. I was doubtful they would before, since it was so cold and I forgot to water them much.

Chucked in a couple of kohrabi. I spaced them badly, amongst the huge and unheading broccoli last year, and they didn’t get enough nutrition or sun.

Sowed some bergamot. Had to pull out HEAPS of onion weed from the herb border cos it was choking my herbs. I’m hoping the dill from last year will resprout as the weather improves cos it super seedshedded. Anyway, I didn’t want my bergamot in the same place as last year cos that was right by the tap and taps and bees don’t really mix. But it’s close to the tap and by a drain, which should deter the boys from both the drain and the tap. Hopefully.

Sunflowers. I tried them a couple of times last year without luck. Will see if anything happens this year. It would be really cool to build a sunflower teepee with the boys this year too.

Beans, peas, sweetpeas.

Nasturtiums under the fruit trees. I want a permanent spot for them that I’m actually ok with.

Basil. Doubt it’ll do much though. The bed wasn’t really ready.

Nettles. Yeah. Pooey nettles. Don’t they want to be useful?

I was dismayed to discover that my comfrey (which is supposed to take over the garden) has been beaten out of its patch by onion weed. Outrageous.

Sorrel. I couldn’t get this to germinate last year. Will have to try a bit harder this year.

Inside I sowed some more tomatoes and eggplants and peppers, and resowed the butternut that appears to be doing nothing.

And now for some pretty pictures. There’s a lot of flowering going on right now 🙂

Not flowering yet. Acquired a tomato plant for Lord B. Will plant it shortly. Hopefully.

Not flowering yet. Acquired a tomato plant for Lord B. Will plant it shortly. Hopefully.

Flowering little radishes. Ok huge radishes. Rather pretty flowers, I think.

Flowering little radishes. Ok huge radishes. Rather pretty flowers, I think.

A full view of the radishes. Just about time to pull them out so I can use that bed for more peas and beans.

A full view of the radishes. Just about time to pull them out so I can use that bed for more peas and beans.

Got quite a few strawberry flowers now :)

Got quite a few strawberry flowers now 🙂

I love the colour of borage flowers.

I love the colour of borage flowers.

!!!!!!! I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS PICTURE!!!!!! This is the broccoli I left for dead, found had grown roots, and replanted. It's HEADING! So clearly the trick to getting broccoli to feed you is plant it at a random time of year, leave it for dead, then replant it in spring so it doesn't have to waste time growing :D

!!!!!!! I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS PICTURE!!!!!! This is the broccoli I left for dead, found had grown roots, and replanted. It’s HEADING! So clearly the trick to getting broccoli to feed you is plant it at a random time of year, leave it for dead, then replant it in spring so it doesn’t have to waste time growing 😀

 

 

Comments
One Response to “Garden log 25/09/13”
  1. Hi Rosemary. It is always exciting to start the new season with new seedlings, and then you look outside and see all the stuff you have to clear away first. I still have a load of work to do with my spade before I have a pristine garden to plant my new seedlings into! Oh the joys of spring. Happy gardening. Cheers Sarah : o )

Leave a Reply

