The Lunch Bag

Lord B has recently started staying at Montessori for lunch. It was just Fridays for a couple of weeks but he keeps asking to stay more days so it’ll be Mondays and Fridays from next week. Then we’ll see. Sir A starts next term and I want to keep double pickups out of the picture for as long as possible.

Not only does staying for lunch mean I have to come up with ideas for packable food (that is nut free – damn potential nut allergies of other kids – and dairy free – damn intolerances – and has protein to keep him going through the afternoon), but it means a requirement of a receptacle for said food.

This was my first choice: http://www.planetbox.com/collections/lunchboxes – cos how super cool are these? Only taking into account currency conversion and shipping (no NZ retailer), it would have been $220 for one for each boy. Er, no.

So I went with http://www.ecothings.co.nz/categories/lunchbots/lunchbots-trio – I forget which website I actually got them from. It was still not cheap, but much more manageable than the lovely planetboxes.

When they arrived I realised they weren’t really big enough if I put a dipper container in, and so a bag was necessary. I had a quick squizz online to see if I could buy one nice and cheap (cos I’d already spent a bit!) but to no avail, so I got my designing cap on, rummaged through my fabric supplies, and got sewing.

I needed a compartment for this

I needed a compartment for this

And another for whatever assortment of these was required.

And another for whatever assortment of these was required.

I also needed a handle and some initials.

Deciding on fabric was a bit annoying. I kinda wanted it to be water resistant but didn’t have anything nice for the outside and my only real option was PUL, which didn’t seem very food grade. I also wanted it kinda padded but didn’t have any suitable batting (though later found some foam – more on that later). I settled for hardwearing corduroy for the outside, and double layer of polarfleece in the middle (nice and fast drying and thick), and leftover blind (as in for the blinds I’m making for their bedroom) material for inside. Red for Lord B, blue for Sir A. When I get around to making his.

I measured and drew lines and cut and confused myself several times but eventually was ready to start sewing.

First mistake – I sewed the compartment divider to the bottom without allowing for seams, and ended up having to unpick some, lose my lovely iron lines, and had to handsew to fix it once the rest was attached.

Damn tricky working with that thing in the way. That's where I used the foam I found, as well as each end. Worked really well in the middle, but I'm sure there must be an easier way to have done it.

Damn tricky working with that thing in the way. That’s where I used the foam I found, as well as at each end. Worked really well in the middle, but I’m sure there must be an easier way to have done it.

I did remember to sew a handle and the initials onto the top cord layer before attaching it to the others. Phew.

I basically sewed the three layers together separately, then attached them by hand at each bottom corner, trimmed the top of the lining and zigzagged the three layers together. Somehow the divider didn’t get in the way too much.

I was relieved to discover it wasn't too small or much too big once put together.

I was relieved to discover it wasn’t too small or much too big once put together.

Attaching the zip was manageable, though I couldn’t get a closed ended one and had to be cunning about that. Then the challenge was sorting out the hole at the back.

Nice gapage.

Nice gapage.

I ended up cutting a piece of cord and a piece of red, sewing the cord in with the lid open, then topstitching  it to fit the gap, and handsewed in the red on the inside.

I ended up cutting a piece of cord and a piece of red, sewing the cord in with the lid open, then topstitching it to fit the gap, and handsewed in the red on the inside.

It's not totally beautiful inside, but works well enough :)

It’s not totally beautiful inside, but works well enough 🙂

And the top view.

And the top view.

Lord B loved it and it serves its purpose. Hopefully when I get around to Sir A’s (after finishing the blinds and doing the stencils on the walls in their room) it’ll go a bit more smoothly!

Comments
2 Responses to “The Lunch Bag”
  1. Tim and Sandie says:

    That’s fantastic!!! When can I place my order???

    I’ll need 3 😉

    xxxxx

    Tim & Sandie Fransen

    Franski Farms

    17 Tihiroa Rd

    RD3

    Otorohanga 3973

    Phone (07)873 8980

Leave a Reply

