Paleo carrot cake

It’s my mother’s birthday on Sunday. I foolishly asked her if she had any requests for baking and she said carrot cake. I don’t currently have a carrot cake in my repertoire.

Enter google. Thank goodness for the interwebs! After rejecting a few, I came across this recipe: http://www.wholefoodsimply.com/whole-orange-and-carrot-cake-with-coconut-frosting/

It appealed to me for several reason. First, I had all the ingredients. Important cos I didn’t really have time or grocery budget to go shopping. Also it didn’t involve almond flour, which is handy since I only use homemade (due to rancidity issues mostly) and that only gets made when I make almond milk, and most of the last lot was used on gingerbread men.

I might write a post about these. For now, let it suffice to say that the boys did the decorating.

I might write a post about these. For now, let it suffice to say that the boys did the decorating. The scones are another story altogether.

Second, it was all ingredients I’m ok with. Third, it looked easy! Apart from melting the coconut oil, which is always a pain, but this give a gram amount instead of cup, so I weighed it, then put it in a cup in a pot on low and it was actually really easy.

Review

Definitely easy. I got an orangy thing off the tree outside, cut up some carrots, whizzed those, chucked in the rest (ok I used lots of cinnamon and allspice instead of Chinese five spice, and one of my eggs had a double yolk, but otherwise I actually stuck to the recipe!), whizzed some more, and voila. I actually think it would be easy enough to do with the kids, and if I like the end result, I will be making it into muffins.

Mmmm look at those spices

Mmmm look at those spices

I thought it would look nice and fancy in this cake mold so ignored the instructions to use a square pan. Perfect fit :)

I thought it would look nice and fancy in this cake mold so ignored the instructions to use a square pan. Perfect fit 🙂

Chucked it on the oven and did other things. It came out like this:

Now it must be noted that my mother does NOT like coconut, and also the frosting recipe looked way too fiddly, so I decided to make a lemon cashew cream frosting. It came out of my head but I thought it would work well. This required soaking some cashews (and bah, I didn’t have any more I hadn’t soaked and dehydrated so had to use those; what a waste lol) for a couple of hours to soften them (would probably do 5 or so hours if they hadn’t already been treated). Then rinsing and whizzing with lemon juice and maybe a little water or whatever else seemed necessary to the taste.

And back to the cake. Upon being cooked it looked pretty good:

2013-09-14 11.32.06

And once cooled and turned out it looked shiny! And also very good. A tiny bit got stuck to the pan so I ate it and it was YUM

And once cooled and turned out it looked shiny! And also very good. A tiny bit got stuck to the pan so I ate it and it was YUM

The icing. I ended up using cashews, juice of two lemons, some coconut oil, and some maple syrup.

The icing. I ended up using cashews, juice of two lemons, some coconut oil, and some maple syrup.

The final product

The final product

And from a more flattering angle...

And from a more flattering angle…

Difficult to resist the temptation to give it a proper try, but I only have to wait till tomorrow morning. Will update with the final verdict then.

Update: definitely a success. To be honest I wasn’t wild about the icing but Mum and the boys liked it (Dad was disappointed in its lack of sweetness; what a surprise) and the cake itself was very yum, and lovely and moist. Lord B decided he wanted it for his birthday cake next weekend, but I think I’ll make cupcakes instead. Definitely a recipe I plan on using in the future 😀

Leave a Reply

