Garden log 13/09/13

Celery, broccoli, carrots. At least that's the idea...

Celery, broccoli, carrots. At least that’s the idea…

Direct sowed some beetroot, red silverbeet, kale, carrots, lettuces, broccoli, celery. Cunningly put down seed raising mix first, in the hopes it’ll help germination.

Just realised I forgot to take a photo of the strawberry flowers – very exciting! Will get one when there are more.

All the gourds I sowed inside have germinated. Except the butternut. Those seeds are pretty old though. Got the gem squash germinated, which is something I’m going growing especially for my mother. She loves gem squash but it’s something one pretty much never sees in NZ supermarkets, so it was very exciting when I found seeds in the King’s Seeds catalogue. (As an aside, I saw kale at the vege shop for the fist time ever on Monday – wonder if it’ll finally make it mainstream!) A tomato has also sprouted and a pepper is looking promising. I’ll have to sow some more things inside soon. I think I’ll sow spare gourds just in case, and can give the seedlings away if I don’t end up needing them.

My old kale is now flowering beautifully. I put some flowers inside but not sure what's meant to happen. Will bag a few outside soon too and see what happens.

My old kale is now flowering beautifully. I put some flowers inside but not sure what’s meant to happen. Will bag a few outside soon too and see what happens.

 

My borage (the only I don't plan on keeping) is looking set to flower already :)

My borage (the one I don’t plan on keeping) is looking set to flower already 🙂

Also looking set to flower is a cabbage I left cos it never got as big as I thought it ought. It's pretty :)

Also looking set to flower is a cabbage I left cos it never got as big as I thought it ought. It’s pretty 🙂

 

And the radishes also look like they want to flower. Guess I'll just let them.

And the radishes also look like they want to flower. Guess I’ll just let them.

 

Speaking of radishes, the ones I pulled up have formed new roots somewhere or other and are still growing foliage...

Speaking of radishes, the ones I pulled up have formed new roots somewhere or other and are still growing foliage…

 

And this is a broccoli that never did anything last year, so I pulled it out after harvesting leaves, and left it on the grass. It also somehow grew roots and kept itself alive over winter, so I chucked in the ground and it seems to be doing ok. Whether it'll fruit for me remains to be seen.

And this is a broccoli that never did anything last year, so I pulled it out after harvesting leaves, and left it on the grass. It also somehow grew roots and kept itself alive over winter, so I chucked in the ground and it seems to be doing ok. Whether it’ll fruit for me remains to be seen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

