Garden log 31/08/13

My new cunning idea. Not enthralled with the idea of individually filling toilet rolls, I filled the tray up with them and then pretty much poured the mix over. Sure, a little got wasted, but it was quick and now they're ready and waiting for when I want them :D

My new cunning idea. Not enthralled with the idea of individually filling toilet rolls, I filled the tray up with them and then pretty much poured the mix over. Sure, a little got wasted, but it was quick and now they’re ready and waiting for when I want them 😀

Sowed some tomatoes, eggplants, capsicums, a chilli, a butternut, zucchinis, and a gherkin.

Sowed some tomatoes, eggplants, capsicums, a chilli, a butternut, zucchinis, and a gherkin.

Sweet little strawberry plants. I thought a couple had died after transplant but they all seem to have some nice new leaves growing, so I'm hoping for Good Things.

Sweet little strawberry plants. I thought a couple had died after transplant but they all seem to have some nice new leaves growing, so I’m hoping for Good Things.

A self-seeded borage in the new carrot bed, that isn't looking very good for germinating carrots. Not friable enough. I think I'll have to put a nice layer of seed raising mix on top to get the germinated and then they can guzzle all the goodies beneath. The borage will go once another one that's conveniently next to the strawberries (in the grass) is proving viable. They take up a LOT of space it turns out.

A self-seeded borage in the new carrot bed, that isn’t looking very good for germinating carrots. Not friable enough. I think I’ll have to put a nice layer of seed raising mix on top to get them germinated and then they can guzzle all the goodies beneath. The borage will go once another one that’s conveniently next to the strawberries (in the grass) is proving viable. They take up a LOT of space it turns out.

The random garlic that I stuck in last summer just for fun and came to life over the winter, plus a few old carrots and my little celeries. I should probably let one celery plant get nice and big but I always take a little bit off for the juice and they don't really get the chance.

The random garlic that I stuck in last summer just for fun and came to life over the winter, plus a few old carrots and my little celeries. I should probably let one celery plant get nice and big but I always take a little bit off for the juice and they don’t really get the chance.

Red kale and nasturtiums. The nasurtiums have all self seeded and come back to life, better than ever it seems. I'm reluctant to try and get rid of them cos they're nice and also cos I don't fancy my chances. There are HEAPS of seeds in the bed. I think I might just let them chill in that bad rather than rotate them with the gourds or it'll happen in the whole garden...

Red kale and nasturtiums. The nasurtiums have all self seeded and come back to life, better than ever it seems. I’m reluctant to try and get rid of them cos they’re nice and also cos I don’t fancy my chances. There are HEAPS of seeds in the bed. I think I might just let them chill in that bad rather than rotate them with the gourds or it’ll happen in the whole garden…

My pretty beets. About a month ago they started growing properly again, after being miniscule all winter. It's nice having a constant supply.

My pretty beets. About a month ago they started growing properly again, after being miniscule all winter. It’s nice having a constant supply.

Quite pleased with how my garlic's looking. The onions don't seem to be doing as well but I've never grown them before so maybe they're ok. Quite a few died after transplant though.

Quite pleased with how my garlic’s looking. The onions don’t seem to be doing as well but I’ve never grown them before so maybe they’re ok. Quite a few died after transplant though.

All of last year's kale is flowering now. I'm going to bag a few heads before they seed so the birds don't steal it all.

All of last year’s kale is flowering now. I’m going to bag a few heads before they seed so the birds don’t steal it all.

Giant radish. One day I'll pull it out and measure it.

Giant radish. One day I’ll pull it out and measure it.

Another giant radish.

Another giant radish.

This is my sort of herb bed. It's sprung up with all sorts of spring bulbs (for some reason lots of onion weed - why would anyone put that in their garden? It's all over the place.) I like it cos it's all green and white and pale purple :)

This is my sort of herb bed. It’s sprung up with all sorts of spring bulbs (for some reason lots of onion weed – why would anyone put that in their garden? It’s all over the place.) I like it cos it’s all green and white and pale purple 🙂 And is also broken up near the end with the boys’ mud patch and sundry mud toys. I actually don’t like that bit, but boys must have mud and that’s the most convenient place in terms of hose access 😦

 

That was a few days ago. AH took the boys to the airport (1.5hrs away) today to see Ouma off, so I got a good chunk of time in the garden and did quite a bit of weeding. I also sowed some bergamot, some swan plants, some bishop’s flower, and some gaura the bride in the spot where there used to be a daisy bush. Hopefully I’ll remember to keep them moist and it’s warm enough for them to germinate. Only one way to find out 😀

While weeding I accidentally pulled out a carrot that was disguised by a weed. Then I saw another one that looked really big - nope, just short and fat and split.

While weeding I accidentally pulled out a carrot that was disguised by a weed. Then I saw another one that looked really big – nope, just short and fat and split.

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Garden log 31/08/13”
  1. Heidi says:

    Wow! I am so impressilated! Your garden is doing so well; I live vicariously through you as I don’t have any room for this sort of thing 😦

Leave a Reply

