Gingerbread bean cake – gluten free, grain free, dairy free, refined sugar free

Slightly soggier than I would have like. I will blame the 95% humidity.

Slightly soggier than I would have like. I will blame the 95% humidity.

A couple of months ago I began experimenting with using beans in cakes. The black bean chocolate cake was delicious, but I can’t tolerate heaps of cocoa, can’t afford heaps of cacao, and don’t like to feed lots of cocoa to my kids, either, so I set about figuring out a white bean spiced version.

After a couple of attempts I was pretty pleased with one version, but didn’t like the very strong banana flavour. I also want to be able to use the chocolate version for birthday cakes but my mother won’t eat anything that has banana in it.

So here’s a banana free version, and I’m guessing the pear would work in the chocolate version too. Also want to try with partially rehydrated apple.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cooked and drained white beans. I don’t believe canned beans will have been prepared properly (soaked and slowly cooked) and really, who needs more than absolutely necessary gas factor?
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 of one large pear (or equivalent)
  • 1ish Tbsp maple syrup
  • as much as you like of ginger, allspice, cinnamon. I like lots of all of them
  • 1/4 cup coconut flour. I wanted to avoid coconut flour as it’s not that easy to get, and expensive, but without the cocoa it needed something very dry to stop it sogging. You could probably even add a bit more.

Method:

  • whizz it all together in the food processor, stick it in a baking receptacle of the rightish size, and bake. 180C for around 20 minutes, then turn down to 150C so it can dry out a little more without burning. The boys wanted to go for a bike ride so I didn’t leave mine in as long as I would have liked. Still delicious though.
Leave a Reply

