Garden log 27/05/13

As usual it’s been a while since I’ve said anything about the garden. Actually about anything. Oh well.

We had a beautiful day here on Friday last week. Lord B was home sick, but not super sick – more crash-around-lunchtime-and-be-super-whingy-for-the-rest-of-the-day kind of sick. Sadly takes after his mother. I decided we all needed to make the most of the good weather and get outside. The boys rode bikes about and I got sowing. I should really have done it a month or so ago, but you know. Busy and stuff.

So I sowed some radishes somewhere random that I forgot. My lettuce bed is full of decomposing other stuff so I chucked some lettuce seeds in a random bit of space that had had capsicums that did nothing. The boys helped me with some carrot seeds – pretty much filled in the empty space in the bed. I put some kale and broccoli in in toilet rolls – hopefully this’ll protect them a bit from the nasty slugs that are making their home everywhere now that it’s all damp all the time. Must acquire cheap beer to make beer traps. And I sowed some nettle seeds in the bed that will eventually have my seedlings. The seedlings are doing ok atm, but I just don’t trust them to survive transplantation and think it’ll have to wait till summer, or at least spring. I doubt the seeds I scattered will do anything, but if they do it’ll be a nice surprise.

Nettles.

Nettles.

This wonderful capsicum plant sprouted a bunch more fruit just as I thought it was done and ready to be pulled out. It's predicted to get close to freezing overnight this week so might need to harvest before then or cover with something.

This wonderful capsicum plant sprouted a bunch more fruit just as I thought it was done and ready to be pulled out. It’s predicted to get close to freezing overnight this week so might need to harvest before then or cover with something.

My daikon radishes are looking great, though they're meant to be all in the ground to break it up for me, not perching half above!

My daikon radishes are looking great, though they’re meant to be all in the ground to break it up for me, not perching half above!

The nasturtiums have really taken off again, even sprouting in the grass (which I quite like). The beets are also doing well. Silverbeet isn't as nice as spinach but it's so much easier to grow, all year round, too, and you can't tell the difference in juice. The kale is still producing leaves, though rather slowly. The tall one had flowered but the birds seemed to like the flavour and stripped it. They've also been stealing my marigold seeds.

The nasturtiums have really taken off again, even sprouting in the grass (which I quite like). The beets are also doing well. Silverbeet isn’t as nice as spinach but it’s so much easier to grow, all year round, too, plus it just keeps going, and you can’t tell the difference in juice. The kale is still producing leaves, though rather slowly. The tall one had flowered but the birds seemed to like the flavour and stripped it. They’ve also been stealing my marigold seeds. I keep forgetting to see how big my cabbages are meant to get but they’ve been that size for ages so I should probably just harvest them before they get devoured. They’ll make pretty sauerkraut. (Went and got one after writing that. They’re way smaller than they’re meant to be. Oh well.)

My celery is finally flourishing. It certainly is a lot nicer than bought. I'm not a huge fan of even this, but in small quantities it's nice. The plants around it are garlic that I thought was no longer there (I planted it in summer just for companionship reasons and most of it got scratched up - or so I thought. There are also carrots from seeds that were lying dormant for ages.

My celery is finally flourishing. It certainly is a lot nicer than bought. I’m not a huge fan of even this, but in small quantities it’s nice. The plants around it are garlic that I thought was no longer there (I planted it in summer just for companionship reasons and most of it got scratched up – or so I thought). There are also carrots from seeds that were lying dormant for ages.

Garlic! and teeny onions.

Garlic! and teeny onions.

This lavender started off as just one stick thing - the tall one with the flower. Now it's slowly turning into a bush.

This lavender started off as just one stick thing – the tall one with the flower. Now it’s slowly turning into a bush.

The eggplant of much production has been by far my best success from seed (of the fruiting plants). It's produced maybe 15 eggplants. Much better than the beautiful but pansy plant (different variety) that only gave me around 4 or 5.

The eggplant of much production has been by far my best success from seed (of the fruiting plants). It’s produced maybe 15-20 eggplants. Much better than the beautiful but pansy plant (different variety) that only gave me 4 or 5. Doubt these ones will get to full size though, owing to coldness.

My carrot bed is looking great. Got a lovely big one the other day. Another couple of weeks and I should finally be able to stop buying carrots. Amazing what fresh seed does to germination rates.

My carrot bed is looking great. Got a lovely big one the other day. Another couple of weeks and I should finally be able to stop buying carrots. Amazing what fresh seed does to germination rates.

It started raining so this one's through the window. We took a couple of shrubs out there and it's going to look fairly manky till spring/summer, but the buckwheat and groundcover that was there already are kinda redeeming it. My mothers' day present was another canna - so I planted that on Friday and now it's flowering :D

It started raining so this one’s through the window. We took out a couple of shrubs there and it’s going to look fairly manky till spring/summer, but the buckwheat and groundcover that was there already are kinda redeeming it. My mothers’ day present was another canna – so I planted that on Friday and now it’s flowering 😀

So overall I’m quite pleased. I think I’ve done very well for my first summer, especially considering how late I got things going. There’s still a fair bit to harvest but unless I do it before 5 it’s so not a happening thing, since it’s often raining and gets dark 5.30/6. But it’s much nicer to look at this winter, when stuck inside on a cold, rainy day – until July last year there was nothing but plans in my head as I looked out on grass and it was so frustrating not being able to do anything about them!

Leave a Reply

