Thai chicken curry

I’m not a huge fan of Indian, but I do like Thai curries if they’re not too hot. What? I was brought up on boiled meat, boiled potatoes, and boiled veg. Ok not everything was boiled, but it was pretty bland English fare. My husband, on the other hand, LOVES curry, and so does Lord B. Sir A will eat most things as long as his mouth doesn’t catch fire.

I saw this recipe on Chocolate Covered Katie and thought I was onto a winner. With adaptations, of course. I’m not exactly vegan. Sadly I’m not the best food photographer, plus I have crap lighting in my kitchen, plus I take pictures on the fly in between dishing up, kissing hurt toes, making juice, and stopping people from stepping on broken glass. So you’ll excuse the crappy pictures 🙂 It’s a lot nicer than it looks.

Half of the ingredients - chicken from the roast the previous night, peanut butter (half a cup or so), as much coconut cream as you like, chili flakes to taste, paprika perhaps. I forgot the basil that time.

Half of the ingredients – chicken from the roast the previous night, peanut butter (half a cup or so), as much coconut cream as you like, chili flakes to taste, paprika perhaps. I forgot the basil that time.

Sautee onion, capsicum, and broccoli in butter till tenderish (I put the onion in first - the other two I like semi-raw)

Sautee onion, capsicum, and broccoli in butter till tenderish (I put the onion in first – the other two I like semi-raw). I actually added quite a bit of frozen chicken stock too, for extra liquid and nutrition and yumness.

Chuck in the chicken and the rest of the ingredients and make sure chicken heats well - stir occasionally.

Chuck in the chicken and the rest of the ingredients and make sure chicken heats well – stir occasionally. 

Serve on rice cooked slowly in chicken stock, or whatever you like. I made "noodles" out of eggplant. It didn't work as well as I'd hoped.

Serve on rice cooked slowly in chicken stock, or whatever you like. I made “noodles” out of eggplant. It didn’t work as well as I’d hoped. And this one didn’t come out as saucy as I’d hoped, but was still delicious. The lack of sauce put Lord B off though.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

