Homemade meat patties

Again, the pictures will not be fabulous, but these are yum. Not yum enough for Lord B to eat (though he will usually eat a patty with nothing added and smothered in tomato sauce – we use All Gold cos it’s delish and relatively crap free).

Ingredients: (makes dinner for us for 2 nights, plus sometimes a little over, so I guess would serve 6 adults)

  • 1 kg mince. I use the normal stuff, not prime, owing to not having issues with fat and also not having a large pocket
  • 1 head garlic. Yup, the whole head.
  • as much fresh herbage as you desire. I use a mix of parsely, oregano, thyme, purple and green basil, rosemary, hyssop, and bergamot. The idea is flavour. Dried herbs can also be used if that’s all you have – a very generous shaking..

Directions:

chop/dice garlic and herbs. I have a cunning mini mini food processor attachment for my handheld blender that does it perfectly. Before I discovered that I crushed everything together with the mortar and pestle. Much more time consuming, though probably more nutritious.
chop/dice garlic and herbs. I have a cunning mini mini food processor attachment for my handheld blender that does it perfectly. Before I discovered that I crushed everything together with the mortar and pestle. Much more time consuming, though probably more nutritious.
Mix evenly through meat.
Mix evenly through meat.
Form into patties and cook, then (for extra yumness) let some cheese melt on them. Yeah this looks so unappetising!
Form into patties and cook, then (for extra yumness) let some cheese melt on them. Yeah this looks so unappetising!
I generally make some chips in the oven, cooked in deoderised coconut oil. Delicious.
I generally make some chips in the oven, cooked in deoderised coconut oil. Delicious.

 

Variations:

I was doing that about once a week, then I got a little sick of all the effort. Sometimes I’d only do half the meat, then turn the rest into a yummy mince dish (garlic, herbs, lots of pasta sauce (nothing but tomatoes in it, in a glass jar, leggo’s) which Lord B wouldn’t touch.

Then I thought I could mix the two, after randomly deciding to make meatballs one day instead of patties. So the next time I made meatballs with nothing in them (in the hopes Lord B would eat them; he didn’t) and a sauce with just tomato pasta sauce, and all the herbs and garlic. Less work, and perhaps more delicous 🙂 I expect I served it with rice, since the boys like it so much.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

