Amazing raw beafsteak

We’re trying to eat more raw food, cos most things are better raw. Not all. But lots.

A few weeks ago I acquired a large roll of steak from Gilmour’s and sliced it up and froze it all. The first time I used some I cooked it, cos it needs to freeze for at least 14 days to kill any potential parasites. Amazing Husband was most disappointed.

The other night I got some more out. The next day I consulted Nourishing Traditions for a recipe, but didn’t have all the ingredients for any of them slash didn’t like the look of them. What to do? What I usually do – take the ideas and make up my own recipe.

Ingredients

  • 4 thin steaks, cut into thin slices (like the steak you can buy for stir frying)
  • 1/4 onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1-2 tsp grated ginger
  • juice of 4 small lemons (I used bought ones – homegrown you’d only need 2-3)
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • liberal sprinkling of sesame seeds
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • chili flakes to taste (or fresh chili if you prefer)
  • chopped parsely and purple basil to taste
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
Combine all ingredients but meat, then mix the meat in. Leave to marinade for a few hours. I did mine at room temperature for most of it, but would advise fridge if it's hot in the kitchen.

Combine all ingredients but meat, then mix the meat in. Leave to marinade for a few hours. I did mine at room temperature for most of it, but would advise fridge if it’s hot in the kitchen. Sigh to the flash. That looks vile!

Serve with whatever you like. I did sauteed onion and cabbage for AH and that plus a bit of rice for me.

Serve with whatever you like. I did sauteed onion and cabbage for AH and that plus a bit of rice for me. Ironic to have cooked the veges, I suppose!

I wasn't brave enough to eat it raw, so very briefly chucked in the pan. The next night I was more brave and ate about half raw before being sick of cold food (blame the kids for everything else being cold) and I heated it up. It was actually really nice raw. And delicious lightly cooked.

I wasn’t brave enough to eat it raw, so very briefly chucked in the pan. The next night I was more brave and ate about half raw before getting sick of cold food (blame the kids for everything else being cold) and I heated it up. It was actually really nice raw. And delicious lightly cooked. Sadly not even Sir A wanted any though 😦

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

