Raw gingernut

2013-04-18 16.07.46

Super arty shot of the finished product. I just love how easy it was!

I’ve been craving a gingery treat for a few weeks but hadn’t found a recipe that quite worked for me. By which I mean it looked too complicated, involved too many expensive ingredients, or had ingredients I don’t like to feed my family.

I found a few today that I kinda liked the look of, but a) couldn’t be bothered following a recipe properly and b) didn’t like any of them as is.

So I took some of the ideas and made my own.

  • 2 liberal handfuls frozen raw almonds. Ideally these would be soaked and dehydrated but oh well. I keep them in the freezer so I can buy in bulk and not have to worry about them going rancid. I think it works. Also apparently they’re easier to chop in the food processor if they’re frozen as the oils can’t escape so easily to make a mess of things.
  • 1 small handful dates, soaked in hot water for 10 or so minutes to soften them. Keep the water just in case.
  • 1/2 cup or so coconut flour (could probably be omitted – I had it so used it)
  • 30g or so butter (I’m sure coconut oil would work fine but I was too lazy to go to the garage to get a new jar)
  • 1 small handful dessicated coconut
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp ginger

As usual, all of these amounts can be played with. I just made it up as I went.

  1. Whizz nuts in food processor till as chopped as possible. Mine weren’t as fine as what you’ll buy at the market shop (supermarket) but were in pretty small pieces.
  2. Chuck everything else in and whizz till sticking together. If it’s a little dry, add a few drops (as needed) of the date water.2013-04-18 16.07.39
  3. Press into cookie shapes.
  4. Guzzle. Actually we ate a few and I put the rest in the freezer (made maybe 8? should have counted before I started eating!) cos it’s always handy to have a few nutritious snacks in there for if I have to go out and don’t have time to do anything but grab and run. The only problem is that if things can be eaten right from the freezer, they don’t always last till I go out…

I think they’re delicious, and Lord B was also impressed. I am pleased. And they took all of 10 minutes to make 😀

Leave a Reply

