Garden log 13/04/13

I finally got into the garden to do a bit of long awaited weeding and mulching today. I suddenly remembered the mulch a friend had given me and used it all up. There was lots of little clover trying to take everything over, so I pulled that out in the beets bed, the broccoli bed, the little herb bed, and a couple of other little spots, and covered the soil with mulch.

Turned out I didn’t need to sow as many seeds in the beets bed as I was planning on cos there were a few little seedlings that were previously being smothered a little. I accidentally pulled some of the out cos I couldn’t see them so hopefully the replanting will take…

Here's an overview. Haven't given one of these for a while

Here’s an overview. Haven’t given one of these for a while. Yes, that is cardboard over one bed. It was a green manure bed and things weren’t rotting fast enough for my taste so I thought I’d cover them. Plus there were weeds and a few other bits and pieces attempting to stay alive. Won’t need that bed till spring anyway, but I like efficiency. Lord B’s cherry tomato (apart from trying to conquer the entire garden) is still producing flowers and fruit, and will need yet ANOTHER prune. Gah!

I pulled out all the "summer" broccoli and replaced it with a winter version. The summer one never did anything. I think it was partly cos I planted them too closely together and also cos the summer was so hot, long, and dry. And they missed the spring, really. Looked at all that lovely mulch :)

I pulled out all the “summer” broccoli and replaced it with a winter version. The summer one never did anything. I think it was partly cos I planted them too closely together and also cos the summer was so hot, long, and dry. And they missed the spring, really. Looked at all that lovely mulch πŸ™‚ Just behind the marigolds are carrots and celery. Man celery takes forever!

The leaves from the broccoli plants I pulled out. Rather tough, most of them, but they'll be fine for juicing.

The leaves from the broccoli plants I pulled out. Rather tough, most of them, but they’ll be fine for juicing.

Look at those happily mulched beets :D

Look at those happily mulched beets πŸ˜€

I put in a bunch more pea, sweetpea, and mini pea seeds. We'll see what they do. Seems the tomatoes are no longer quite so bent on taking over that bed, and I've been pulling and juicing any borage seedlings I've been finding (which works out quite well, really). Just need to eradicate the rest of that damn clover. Oh and the marigolds have started self seeding, which is quite nice :D

I put in a bunch more pea, sweetpea, and mini pea seeds. We’ll see what they do. Seems the tomatoes are no longer quite so bent on taking over that bed, and I’ve been pulling and juicing any borage seedlings I’ve been finding (which works out quite well, really). Just need to eradicate the rest of that damn clover. Oh and the marigolds have started self seeding, which is quite nice πŸ˜€

Oh noes! I forgot to take a photo of the onion and garlic bed! I bought a punnet of onion seedlings from the supermarket cos they finally had some. There were heaps! I filled up around 5/8ths of the bed and still had some left. I’ll possibly fill up a bit of the left over bit, but some might not take, and then I can replace them. I also planted maybe 20 garlic – got the cloves off trademe. He said to put sheep pellets in the holes but I didn’t feel like going out to get them so used a little horse poop instead. Oh well, you can’t really see much anyway – it’s the far bed of the two middle beds if you care enough to take a peek. There are still some radishes and oats and things in part of the bed that I want to let finish growing before I rip them out. Had to put the alliums in next year’s bed cos otherwise they’ll be in the beet bed or broccoli bed still when I need new stuff in. Good thing I have “spare” beds.

In related news, I acquired some aloe plants via freecycle, which have nicely filled up the space my orginal 2 measly aloes were neglecting. They’re supposed to need no water and reproduce like crazy. Not those two. I did notice when planting the new ones that one of the old ones had two tiny babies, but they spent most of the summer being brown and doing very little. I never thought to water them, cos they’re aloes! And then it rained (finally) and they went green again. I must say I got a few scrapes when planting, but there was salve right on hand πŸ˜€ ALso no pic due to darkness.

Pardon any typos – no time to proofread!

 

 

 

 

Comments
One Response to “Garden log 13/04/13”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] of radishes is actually buckwheat. Interesting mistake to make. And my mystery plant from the last garden log is the radishes! At least now I know what’s […]



Leave a Reply

