Easter treats (dairy free, low sugar, can be grain free, raw)

It seems I can barely tolerate junk food anymore. I just don’t enjoy it much, and always feel crap afterwards. But Easter is a time of great celebration and some chocolatey treats just seemed necessary.

I’ve been seeing various ideas on various blogs over the last few weeks, but most of them looked too messy or annoying or something, so I made up my own.

20130403_165048

Ingredients:

  • cup almonds, preferably soaked overnight. I only did mine for 4 hours since I was impatient.
  • handful dessicated coconut
  • small handful dates
  • handful rice crispies (optional – I just wanted a little extra bulk)
  • 2-4 tbsp chia seeds (depends whether you want to pretend they’re not there)

For the chocolate:

  • melted coconut oil
  • cocoa
  • sweetener of choice. I used maple syrup.
  • It’s really about taste – I used around 3/4 cup coconut oil, maybe 1/2 cup cocoa, and a couple of swirls of syrup.

1. Place coconut oil jar in warm water to melt.

2. Stick almonds and dates in food processor and blend till chopped up. Add everything else and blend till nicely mixed.

2013-04-03 15.34.54

3. In a bowl or jug, mix up your “chocolate”.

Cover the bottom of mini muffin tray holes with chocolate.

Cover the bottom of mini muffin tray holes with chocolate.

Place a ball of mixture in the middle.

Place a ball of mixture in the middle.

Put another spoon or so of chocolate over the balls. Swish around/add a little more to make sure they're coated. The boys helped with this tray...

Put another spoon or so of chocolate over the balls. Swish around/add a little more to make sure they’re coated. The boys helped with this tray…

Freeze till all solidified. Attempt not to guzzle in one go.

I ran out of small muffing tray holes so made a couple in normal size ones. If you can't be bothered making balls, I think this one is potentially even yummier. Chocolate, then crumbly mixture mixed in. A bit like a chocolate coated Anzac biscuit :D

I ran out of small muffing tray holes so made a couple in normal size ones. If you can’t be bothered making balls, I think this one is potentially even yummier. Chocolate, then crumbly mixture mixed in. A bit like a chocolate coated Anzac biscuit đŸ˜€

If Lord B loved them, they must be good.

Leave a Reply

