Boyses 30/03/13 cutenesses

Doggies: The boys have taken to being doggies at many moments. This includes tongues out and licking. Neither of them ever got a dribble rash from teething; Sir A has a nasty one now, and even Lord B has a slight one. Mumidog is much the boisterouster of the two. He also thinks it’s hilarious to crawl down the aisle very much in character at solemn moments of Mass. Thankfully I can avoid that easily enough if I make sure the foyer doors are shut at all times.

They also sometimes like to be dreadful crocodiles, which gobble up anyone in their path. And occasionally dreadful lions, which mostly just roar, much to my relief.

They also sometimes like to be dreadful crocodiles, which gobble up anyone in their path. And occasionally dreadful lions, which mostly just roar, much to my relief.

Singing: Lord B seems to finally be getting the confidence to sing a little. He has a very novel version of Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star, the ABC song with no words (letters?), and one that goes “paki, paki, paki, paki, tamariki ma”. Sir A has caught on to the last one. He really likes singing and does it a lot, only his is often about his trains and pooing and iki ma. They also like to sing the Chuggington theme song. I am suspecting that Sir A will be much more of a singer than Lord B which means I may need to wait slightly longer before one of my children can take my place in the church choir. Oh well.

Talking:

I say this every time I update on the boys, but Sir A’s speech is really taking off. It’s getting much clearer and his sentences are getting more complex. By which I mean he’s attempting to use prepositions and using complete sentences, albeit often missing articles.

The evenings I remember I say the Guardian Angel prayer for Sir A. Sometimes he tries to repeat it, saying “mmm” when he can’t be bothered, then getting to bits like “night” which he can say, and “at my side” which he interpreted as “Bobi’s side” (ie Lord B’s mim, which Sir A is allowed from bedtime till whenever I realise it’s getting close to morning). Cheeky blighter.

Other things he’s started saying: “What (breath) nsay?” (What did you say?); “sorry” – mostly when he’s making up stories with his trains – I hear “I’m sorry Wagon *insert random made up stuff and pretend words here*. He’s still saying “wank”, but I finally managed to translate it accurately and he’s making it sound more like “reach” now. And after thinking “wa wa vu” was some strange version of “move” for weeks, I finally clicked that it meant “out of my way, express coming through”. He was very pleased when I realised. Clearly has watched too much Thomas/learns too much from his brother. Oh and he’s started saying “go way” when he doesn’t like something we’re doing. Which can be turned into a game by me telling him to go away instead, which is useful.

Lord B also has a couple of funny things going on. He’s got the concept of past and future, but not of labeling it properly. For “yesterday” or “the other day” he says “last day” (I’m guessing from “last night”) and for any point in the future he says “tomowow”. “Do you want any more breakfast?” “No I’ve had enough I’ll have it tomowow”. Actually I think he might have said “later” today, so maybe he’s getting that one.

He’s also picked up the concept of being busy. While sitting at the dinner table doing nothing much he says “I can’t eat now I don’t have tine” (time). And similar things at equally inaccurate moments, but hey.

Sir A got really attached to this rain poncho for a few days. Too sweet :)

Sir A got really attached to this rain poncho for a few days. Too sweet 🙂 He also has some goggles he likes to wear out and about, but the stupid thing won’t let me upload a picture of that 😦 Lord B favours a pair of 3-d glasses we had to bring home from a movie ages ago.

Comments
2 Responses to “Boyses 30/03/13 cutenesses”
  1. smokering says:

    We still use Rowan’s “the istiday”, which was a loose version of “yesterday”, really meaning “some time ago”. It’s a handy phrase.

Leave a Reply

