Headaches update

It’s been a while since I’ve thought a lot about my headaches. This is largely cos I haven’t had one for around a month! I can’t remember the exact date, but it was about 2 weeks into Lent, which is just about over now. Actually, I have had one headache – but that was a mastitis-induced one, and quite different to a tension headache which is what had been plaguing me. So it doesn’t count.

What do I think has caused the fixing?

I’m not 100% sure, but I think it’s been a combination of several things:

  1. Reduced caffeine intake. I’m only having one coffee for the vast majority of days and I’ve pretty much cut out chocolate. Which is a little depressing, but it actually tended to make me a little tired anyway. I now have some raw cacao (not that I can afford to eat vast quantities of homemade chocolate) for if I’m feeling like a headache might come on but I desperately need chocolate. Small bits of chocolate (or a whole slab every few weeks) seem not to be a problem though – woot!
  2. Zumba. Sounds corny, but I think it really helps. I do it every morning for as long as I have time for in between making and eating breakfast. It loosens me up, so I start the day with more relaxed muscles instead of tense or stiff ones from sleeping in funny positions. Always going to help with tension.
  3. The odd magnesium pill. Can’t hurt. Don’t take it often enough to make a huge difference, but that combined with the increased magnesium foods I’ve been consuming must surely be helping my muscles.
  4. Improved posture. I’ve been paying a lot of attention to using my core and keeping my ribcage up and shoulders back. Helps a lot with putting less pressure on my shoulders. Oddly makes the back of my hips kinda sore when standing or kneeling, and is much harder when holding a child but is so worth it.
  5. Less sugar. I’m not sure how much difference this makes but it certainly helps with overall health, so I’m guessing it contributes a bit. I’m not usually a huge sugar consumer, but when one goes to a cafe, it’s impossible to eat something and not get a huge sugar hit. One of the things we gave up this Lent (as a family) was cafes, as well as the odd sugary treat from the supermarket. Instantly less opportunity to eat the crap. Vile stuff. Always makes me feel horrid.

So there we have it. The 5 contributing factors I believe have helped me overcome my not-quite-chronic-but-frequent-enough-to-be-really-annoying tension headaches. Now I just have to stick to the good habits I’ve acquired…

 

Update 31/03/13 – yeah, a whole day later. I had too much crappy baking (no offence, Mum), an extra coffee, didn’t really do zumba, and it was headache weather. Sorry about the nurofen dregs you’ll be getting Sir A. Bah. Still, one a month is better than 2-4 a month.

Leave a Reply

