Hot cross buns

Technically I should be eating hot cross buns on Good Friday, but I decided to try some sourdough ones this year and they were going to take 2 days to make – so if they were a flop, I wanted time to make some more. I think that’s my excuse, anyway.

This recipe looked the most convenient in terms of complicatedness, expensiveness of ingredients, and nutritional pluses.

So off I went, making the “sponge”. All good so far.

Then came the kneading bit. It was very sloppy and sticky. I suspected I’d added too much water, so added some more flour. No photos, for obvious reasons.

Let it rise some more in the fridge, as instructed, then was about to quickly turn it into balls when I realised there was still way too much stickiness. Bah! (This is, perhaps, what comes of never doing this sort of baking.) Didn’t have time to properly sort it out, so I added more flour and the dried fruit, and left it for 1.5hrs till I could sort it out. Then added more flour as I was kneading and balling it.

By this stage (after having made crackers and bread and all sorts over the last couple of days too) the kitchen was a pigsty. BUT I HAD BUNS! I left them to do their final rise, then baked them good and gobbled some up.

After much kneading and rising and mixing and adding more flour and kneading and rising and crossing, all ready to go in the oven.

After much kneading and rising and mixing and adding more flour and kneading and rising and crossing, all ready to go in the oven.

All done!

All done!

Here's a side view - lots of lovely bubbles and a nice spongy texture.

Here’s a side view – lots of lovely bubbles and a nice spongy texture.

I was expecting a slightly sour taste, but, while it wasn’t sweet, it wasn’t sour at all. Sadly the spices and other flavours had been subdued somewhat with all the extra flour, but I did get 15 buns so they’ll easily last till Friday 🙂

Lord B reckons they taste like scones. He’s rather right. This is most pleasing – he loves scones but I hadn’t found a recipe I was keen on making till now. I’d prefer not to be using white spelt, but it’s better than white normal flour, and would be an occasional treat.

Overall, most pleased!

Comments
6 Responses to “Hot cross buns”
  1. AfricanKiwi says:

    They look fab!Quite the domestic goddess 😉

  2. Smokering says:

    Cool!

    If you want a bit of extra flavour and colour, you could add a spot of molasses – not too much, just a tablespoon or so. I put it in my hot cross buns to get that deep, spicy colour without using a whole packet of cinnamon – not that I’d be opposed to that, in theory…

Leave a Reply

