Garden log 24/03/13

Oh how slack I’ve become. Meh. Also, it seems the boys have been fingering the lense. Oh well, gives everything a slightly ethereal look?

Looks like Lord B's tomato will need ANOTHER prune before it stops producing. It's like a mutant.

Looks like Lord B’s tomato will need ANOTHER prune before it stops producing. It’s like a mutant.

Lord B helped me mulch today. We have a tibouchina above a bit of mossy lawn that drops leaves and petals all year round. Got over a wheelbarrow full of the stuff, which Lord B helped me strew, er, on the plants. I had to redistribute after he’d done his bit, with his permission, of course. Not the perfect mulch, but got to work with what I’ve got 🙂

All that's left of the large tomatoes. I had to pull them all out and bin them cos they got wilt or something. Saved the fruit that was still on them and it's ripening on the kitchen windowsill. There are two little pear tomato plants that seem fine, but whether they'll manage to do anything before the summer is out remains to be seen.

All that’s left of the large tomatoes. I had to pull them all out and bin them cos they got wilt or something. Saved the fruit that was still on them and it’s ripening on the kitchen windowsill. There are two little pear tomato plants that seem fine, but whether they’ll manage to do anything before the summer is out remains to be seen.

The basils are doing well though :)

The basils are doing well though 🙂

 

 

Freshly mulched legume bed. The legumes all died, so I've sowed some peas just as a cover crop, and a bazillion or so tomatoes have managed to self seed in there too. I tell you that plant wants to take over the world. The strawberry bed is now decomposing, with next year's strawberries potted up in the greenhouse. Will sow some more lettuce in there once the radishes I've sowed as a cover crop have shown their faces properly - seems there are lots of gaps. I think I'll also start some onions and garlic in there soon, or they'll be in the wrong bed come spring.

Freshly mulched legume bed. The legumes all died, so I’ve sowed some peas just as a cover crop, and a bazillion or so tomatoes have managed to self seed in there too. I tell you that plant wants to take over the world. The strawberry bed is now decomposing, with next year’s strawberries potted up in the greenhouse. Will sow some more lettuce in there once the radishes I’ve sowed as a cover crop have shown their faces properly – seems there are lots of gaps. I think I’ll also start some onions and garlic in there soon, or they’ll be in the wrong bed come spring.

These nearly bit the dust. I sent the boys outside cos I needed time out. Ten minutes later Amazing Husband asked me what was in the little black pots, cos the boys were throwing them around the garden. Mother explosion, Daddy helping boys repot, and they haven't touched them since. Thankfully they all survived.

These nearly bit the dust. I sent the boys outside cos I needed time out. Ten minutes later Amazing Husband asked me what was in the little black pots, cos the boys were throwing them around the garden. Mother explosion, Daddy helping boys repot, and they haven’t touched them since. Thankfully they all survived.

 

This one's doing pretty well in the fruiting department, though they're taking ages to get big.

This eggplant’s doing pretty well in the fruiting department, though they’re taking ages to get big.

This eggplant is yet to fruit, but has a lot of flowers. A LOT.

This one is yet to fruit, but has a lot of flowers. A LOT.

 

Look at the beautiful colour this capsicum is finally turning. Really hoping this weather lasts long enough for all of them to ripen,  but I'm thinking my chances are slim.

Look at the beautiful colour this capsicum is finally turning. Really hoping this weather lasts long enough for all of them to ripen, but I’m thinking my chances are slim.

My courgettes have developed powdery mildew, which I was treating with a milk and water spray, but intermittently. I think I'll just leave them the last couple of weeks of their lives and then bin them. The nasturtiums weren't doing too well either so I buried some of their seeds (didn't realise they dropped so many!) and little ones are now emerging :) And both my butternuts died :( At least one something and a butternut died. The butternut got forgotten in the watering regime by him who didn't know about it, and it didn't survive the drought.

My courgettes have developed powdery mildew, which I was treating with a milk and water spray, but intermittently. I think I’ll just leave them the last couple of weeks of their lives and then bin them. The nasturtiums weren’t doing too well either so I buried some of their seeds (didn’t realise they dropped so many!) and little ones are now emerging 🙂 And both my butternuts died 😦 At least one something and a butternut died. The butternut got forgotten in the watering regime by him who didn’t know about it, and it didn’t survive the drought.

A mostly done green manure bed. I quite like green manures. They make they garden look productive when other things are taking forever to grow. Plus they're good for the garden. The bag has horse poop I really must dig in at some point...

A mostly done green manure bed. I quite like green manures. They make they garden look productive when other things are taking forever to grow. Plus they’re good for the garden. The bag has horse poop I really must dig in at some point…

Lots of wee radishes in there.

I’m finally having more success with my carrot germination rate. Largely because I got new seeds I think. The others were probably 3 years old, maybe more. Very unpredictable.

Those wretched broccoli. I  cut the leaves off one and pulled out another to make way for a winter variety. Will leave them in slightly longer just in case, but think I should get going on the winter one. Oh well, only major letdown for my first year - not too bad!

Those wretched broccoli. I cut the leaves off one and pulled out another to make way for a winter variety. Will leave them in slightly longer just in case, but think I should get going on the winter one. Oh well, only major letdown for my first year – not too bad!

What pretty bergamot flowers :) this herbs, it turns out, gets quite tall!

What pretty bergamot flowers 🙂 this herbs, it turns out, gets quite tall!

I"m just adding this cos my mother said that Italian parsley always looks straggly and this totally proves her wrong. The middle is only looking funny cos I harvested A LOT for our meatballs yesterday.

I”m just adding this cos my mother said that Italian parsley always looks straggly and this totally proves her wrong. The middle is only looking funny cos I harvested A LOT for our meatballs yesterday.

 

And that’s roughly how things stand. We also pulled out a couple of shrubs next to the vege garden and I’m slowly reconditioning that soil – it’s in bad shape. I think. But it will be lovely once I’ve sorted it over winter and when the spring blooms the seeds I will sow. And I might grow a gourd or two there, cos they take up SO much space it turns out.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

