Savoury quinoa flapjacks

I had some quinoa left over from dinner (and what an uninspiring dinner it was) that I didn’t know what to do with. Suddenly, inspiration struck – quinoa flapjacks. I kinda made them up as I went along (what a surprise), but I think these are roughly the proportions!

350ml cooked quinoa

2 eggs

basil, parsely, chives

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp psyllium husk

salt and pepper to taste

Mix it all up and cook like flapjacks. I used butter. Made 12.

They do the bubbly hole thing just like flapjacks

They do the bubbly hole thing just like flapjacks

A note on cooking quinoa – like all grains, it’s necessary to soak quinoa at least overnight before rinsing, draining, then cooking on low for a couple of hours. Before I learnt about soaking I would eat quinoa and get really tired immediately afterwards. Damn phytates. I also added some chicken stock (homemade) as it helps with getting the maximum protein out of the quinoa, as well as adding a little more flavour…

Served with cherry tomatoes from the garden, a little parsely, and some nut cheese.

Served with cherry tomatoes from the garden, a little parsely, and some nut cheese.

The verdict? A little bland (quinoa is sooooo bland) but a pretty good base for other yummy things. I did add a bit of salt to the finished product which also improved them greatly. Sir A liked his with worcestershire sauce and tomato sauce (All Gold – really must try to make my own some time) and Lord B cavorted about pretending to be a dog. But he’d already had lunch, so I didn’t expect any interest.

Update: Lord B came along 1/2 hour later and asked for a “pancake”. With wed sauce and bwown sauce. And ate it all. And then asked for another one. !!!

Leave a Reply

