Garden log 31/01/13

I have tiny little capsicums! This is super exciting. I can't wait to be eating them all day :D

I have tiny little capsicums! This is super exciting. I can’t wait to be eating them all day 😀

Finally eating ripe cherry tomatoes! Had a few ripen every day for the last few days. Will probably have to start giving them away soon.

Finally eating ripe cherry tomatoes! Had a few ripen every day for the last few days. Will probably have to start giving them away soon.

A baby eggplant. Feeling quite smug about that for some reason.

A baby eggplant. Feeling quite smug about that for some reason.

Marrow in the juice today - the grow so quickly!

Marrow in the juice today – they grow so quickly!

I bought myself a canna to go in a bed next to the vege garden. Didn't like the 3 round bushes in a row asthetic. Left them in their pot without much watering for a bit too long and couldn't separate them at planting but hopefully they recover! Loving all the cannas flowering everywhere atm (except the yellow-flowered, green-leaved ones. ick).

I bought myself a canna to go in a bed next to the vege garden. Didn’t like the 3 round bushes in a row asthetic. Left them in their pot without much watering for a bit too long and couldn’t separate them at planting but hopefully they recover! Loving all the cannas flowering everywhere atm (except the yellow-flowered, green-leaved ones. ick).

The netting is to keep the birds away from the strawberries.

The netting is to keep the birds away from the strawberries.

My borage is flowering. It's also huge! Takes up more more of the strawberry patch than I intended. So do the strawberries, actually, with their damn runners. Think I'll try a different design for that bed next year.

My borage is flowering. It’s also huge! Takes up much more of the strawberry patch than I intended. So do the strawberries, actually, with their damn runners. Think I’ll try a different design for that bed next year.

Got sick of sowing inside so made some "cloches" (it was hard finding enough plastic bottles - thank goodness Amazing Husband likes to indulge in Coke Zero every now and then) and sowed the rest o my capsicums. Hopefully they actually germinate cos it's getting late for them and I've used all my seeds.

Got sick of sowing inside so made some “cloches” (it was hard finding enough plastic bottles – thank goodness Amazing Husband likes to indulge in Coke Zero every now and then) and sowed the rest of my capsicums. Hopefully they actually germinate cos it’s getting late for them and I’ve used all my seeds.

Green manure needs to be chopped and dug in, methinks. The birds have been eating the oats all afternoon.

Green manure needs to be chopped and dug in, methinks. The birds have been eating the oats all afternoon.

And totally not edible or near the veges, but I thought this Cape Plumbago deserved some attention. I wasn't so happy to see it originally but it's looking lovely atm. Going to have to trim it soon though - it's hard getting through that gate now. The flowers all have sticky bits so it's a little like going through a spider's web.

And totally not edible or near the veges, but I thought this Cape Plumbago deserved some attention. I wasn’t so happy to see it originally but it’s looking lovely atm. Going to have to trim it soon though – it’s hard getting through that gate now. The flowers all have sticky bits so it’s a little like going through a spider’s web.

I nearly forgot my pickles! There are only 3 big enough to pickle so far, so I'm not too sure what to do, since I don't want to leave them on there forever. I suppose I'll think about it for a little longer.

I nearly forgot my pickles! There are only 3 big enough to pickle so far, so I’m not too sure what to do, since I don’t want to leave them on there forever. I suppose I’ll think about it for a little longer.

 

Leave a Reply

