Water kefir; Legion 2.0

image

The lovely lady that gave me the grains also gave me some nice bottles, which are much easier to pour out of than jars. Plus then the jars can be used for other things.

Ages ago I posted about water kefir. I was never too convinced I was doing it right, so when someone offered me some fresh grains I jumped at the chance. She also gave me some awesome instructions:

  • 2 T water kefir grains
  • 2 T sugar – white
  • 1/2 lemon (cut of skin if not organic)
  • 2cm chunk ginger
  • 1 T sultanas or raisins
  • 1l water
  • (optional) 1/4 t molasses
  • 1/2 eggshell

Hadn’t heard of the eggshell bit before. Apparently it gives it calcium, though why that matters I’m not sure.

Method:

  • strain and rinse grains under clean running water
  • put them in the jar with the other ingredients and stir till the sugar dissolves
  • close jar with good lid (I use agee jars, so works well) and leave at room temp – stir at 24 hrs and more if want
  • once raisins float to surface and liquid is a bit fizzy it’s done – takes 24ish hours in summer
  • scoop off lemons etc and strain grains from liquid
  • rinse grains thoroughly under cold water
  • squeeze lemon into liquid and put it into sealed bottles or jars – bottles must be designed for fizzy stuff!
  • leave to ferment at room temp for another day or stick straight in the fridge

REALLY HELPFUL STUFF

Some tips I really could have used before were: storage: can be stored in fridge in 1T sugar to 1C water solution for up to 7 days or in the freezer in a ziplock bag for up to 2-3 months.

And here’s one that I think has been at the root of my problems this time round – they need hard, highly mineralised water, and if you’re using soft water you need to add 1/4t baking soda to 6C water. I’ve been using WATER IN A BOX (artesian water from Pak ‘n Slave), which turns out to be highly mineralised, but SOFT as. The last lot I did I put a little bs in, and it did seem to help, though I’m thinking I might get some fresh grains and start again if the next batch isn’t even better. Also the most recent batch turned out quite viscous, which was odd. Not sure if it’ll get drunk…

I also tried a version with ginger juice in it, which was supposed to be all ginger beery, but B wouldn’t drink it and I didn’t like it as much as the usual stuff – not worth the extra effort (thankfully!)

A final point – kids love this stuff. It’s full of probiotics, and actually yum. In fact, we call it “yummies”, not water kefir. Much easier to pronounce.

Comments
2 Responses to “Water kefir; Legion 2.0”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] how AMAZING it is to have 2 hours to ourselves in the evenings? Even if half of it is spent making water kefir and muffins and […]



Leave a Reply

