Muffins that are not cake

2013-01-30 16.29.54

This is version 3.0

Jim Gaffigan likes cake. He also likes muffins, because they are usually just cake in muffin tins.

Not my muffins! I was actually looking for a scone recipe that was various things free, soaked overnight, etc, and found this. Only I didn’t want to add honey, and I couldn’t be bothered with things like expensive vanilla. And I didn’t have any aluminium free baking soda.

So I adapted it. Seemingly dangerous, since I’m so not a baker, but here’s the first version I did:

  • 1 1/2 cups oats
  • cinnamon (what looked good)
  • handful sultanas
  • some chia seeds and flaxseeds (however much takes your fancy)
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • some coconut cream (maybe half a cup)
  • a little maple syrup
  • a splash water kefir

Mixed it up, left it overnight, and baked them while I was making breakfast. The idea was so Lord B could have mobile breakfast, but it didn’t work.

They tasted great, Sir A and I thought. The texture was a little porridgy though, and they were quite dense, so take two…

  • 2 cups oats (whizzed in the food processor till flour-like)
  • cinnamon and mixed spice
  • chia seeds and flaxseeds
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • some coconut cream
  • 2ish spoons sourdough starter
  • some grated carrot – as much as I could be bothered doing by hand

RESULTS: the same. Didn’t rise heaps this time either, but the extra oats made them bigger 🙂

My third version was pretty much the same as the second, only I grated some beetroot in this time. And didn’t put in the coconut cream, and did put in water kefir. Just a splash. And put more starter in. And put in prune bits instead of sultanas. So really not that much the same, I guess!

I now have some aluminium free bs, so will try that fourth time round. Not sure if I’ll bother with the veges in future – extra effort for less nutrition that I’d get from juicing them. Might try some with cocoa though, cos YUM.

Also, I love that it doesn’t seem to matter what I do with them, they turn out ok!

Comments
3 Responses to “Muffins that are not cake”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] is to have 2 hours to ourselves in the evenings? Even if half of it is spent making water kefir and muffins and […]

  2. […] to eat. Didn’t really happen. So I came up with a cunning idea of mobile porridge in these muffins, which of course he wouldn’t eat to start with. I even cunningly tried to pretend that Nanny […]

  3. […] So I made a chocolate version of my muffins that are not cake. […]



Leave a Reply

