Juice

A while back I posted basic instructions on how to make delicious juice. Now that I have more interesting ingredients available from my garden I thought I’d update a little.

2013-01-22 17.31.29

Look at all that fresh goodness.

Most of the ingredients. Carrots and carrot tops from the garden, nasturtiums and nasturtium flowers, lettuce, kale, which I steamed first to neutralise the phytic acid, cucumber (now we're getting courgettes from the garden), lettuce, beetroot (when I pick one fresh I steam the leaves and chuck them in too), mint leaves, occasionally silverbeet or spinach (also steam that lightly)

Most of the ingredients. Carrots and carrot tops from the garden, nasturtiums and nasturtium flowers, lettuce, kale, which I steamed first to neutralise the oxalic acid, cucumber (now we’re getting courgettes from the garden), lettuce, beetroot (when I pick one fresh I steam the leaves and chuck them in too), mint leaves, occasionally silverbeet or spinach (also steam that lightly). NB do not put all the carrot greens through together. One at a time, and mix with something soft. The fibres of the carrot greens do some serious clogging on their own.

For a couple of weeks I was using ya pears instead of apples, cos they were cheaper. Also VERY juicy :)

For a couple of weeks I was using ya pears instead of apples, cos they were cheaper. Also VERY juicy 🙂

This pic shows the kale better. So superfooody :)

This pic shows the kale better. So superfooody 🙂

This is after just the fruit and capsicum. And maybe some carrots.

This is after just the fruit and capsicum. And maybe some carrots.

Then all the greens and odds and ends. Mmm scummy.

Then all the greens and odds and ends. Mmm scummy.

The finished product. Interestingly the boys always seem to want more when there's beetroot in it, Personally not my favourite, though I don't mind it.

The finished product. Interestingly the boys always seem to want more when there’s beetroot in it, Personally not my favourite, though I don’t mind it.

Leave a Reply

