Garden log 18/01/13

I always love going out into the garden after a couple of days of rain. I haven’t had to water it so haven’t examined it much, and it can change so much in such a short space of time.

2013-01-18 11.51.28

Haven’t been sowing much lately. Probably need to do some more pepper and things. And carrots. I have a new plan for my carrots/celery/onion/garlic beds. I think it will rock. But i think it helps if one sows carrots regularly so the wee seeds aren’t overshaded by the huge carrot tops. Doesn’t seem to help germination. But, my carrots are doing surprisingly well. Two forked on so far, but the other few I’ve pulled quite respectable 😀 They’re not huge, but bigger than some of the ones in the bag I bought last week, so I reckon that’s good enough 🙂 They’ll keep growing before they’re all used anyway.

Have sown some nettles that are to go in quite  a different part of the garden. Cos it’s good for so many things.

My broccoli is meant to be ready to harvest by now. It’s not. I can’t see the faintest trace of anything but leaves. This peeves me.

That's the borage/oats/peas bed in the background, with "broccoli" in front.

That’s the borage/oats/peas bed in the background, with “broccoli” in front. And marigolds. That I grew from seed. Which is apparently difficult. This makes me feel smug.

My courgettes aren't in the millions yet, but the oldest one on the plant has double in size in the last day. Or two days. I forget.

My courgettes aren’t in the millions yet, but the oldest one on the plant has double in size in the last day. Or two days. I forget.

I have lots of green tomatoes. I’ve been frying some up with basil and oregano from the garden. Mmm. And the occasional courgette flower.

This a cherry tomato. Right? Pretty sure they labelled that one wrong, cos they're all rather big....

This a cherry tomato. Right? Pretty sure they labelled that one wrong, cos they’re all rather big….

Thank goodness Lord B's plant is laden, and some finally ripening!

Thank goodness Lord B’s plant is laden, and some finally ripening!

Basil with the toms

Basil with the toms

I actually was growing these mostly for the nitrogen-fixing capabilities and also cos they looked nice. The peas ditto, and the sweetpeas for prettiness. But we've been eating the beans and peas and they're yummy. I also should have remembered that I got all dwarf varieties on purpose before spending ages erecting a teepee thing...

I actually was growing these mostly for the nitrogen-fixing capabilities and also cos they looked nice. The peas ditto, and the sweetpeas for prettiness. But we’ve been eating the beans and peas and they’re yummy. I also should have remembered that I got all dwarf varieties on purpose before spending ages erecting a teepee thing…

One of the prettiest plants in the garden - Black Beauty - eggplant

One of the prettiest plants in the garden – Black Beauty – eggplant

Which has a flower!

Which has a flower!

Pretty lettuces among the strawberries.

Pretty lettuces among the strawberries.

My strawberries are producing well, though small. At least, a few a week. Better than they were! The plants are producing excellent runners which are attempting to invade the carrots and legumes, but I managed to fight them off.

I haven’t yet achieved my goal of not needing to spend much at the vege shop. Though a large portion is on eggs and butter. But once I’m getting free apples from my orchard source again, that’ll help quite a bit. I’ll be able to not buy carrots for a couple of weeks, though they’re pretty cheap. What I’m really hanging out for is my peppers, cos they’re very expensive. Sir A’s plant has quite a few flowers on it, and my ones are getting big 🙂 Hopefully won’t be too long. I suppose all the little things add up too – will stop buying cucumbers soon and just use courgettes, and might one day not need broccoli. At least when I use a carrot I also have the greens to put in the juice, and I don’t need to buy any green leafy things.

More prettiness among the cabbages, though I’m not sure I’ll bother with them next year. They take an awful long time to get anywhere and take up a lot of space, and the yield is hardly huge. More kale I say.

Lovely purple cabbages - another pretty vege.

Lovely purple cabbages – another pretty vege.

Yeah they've been chomped a little.

Yeah they’ve been chomped a little.

My spinach is starting to get ready to bolt, I think. Good thing I have some perpetual spinach on the rise.

My spinach is starting to get ready to bolt, I think. Good thing I have some perpetual spinach on the rise.

The nasturtium/gourd bed. It's pretty rampant!

The nasturtium/gourd bed. It’s pretty rampant!

I've started a herb garden along the path next to the  veges So far got rosemary, lavender, dill, hyssop, comfrey, borage, and parsely. This is the borage. I transplanted it from the strawberry patch and it looked limp as not long after, then went brown in many places, but is doing well now.

I’ve started a herb garden along the path next to the veges So far got rosemary, lavender, dill, hyssop, comfrey, borage, and parsely. This is the borage. I transplanted it from the strawberry patch and it looked limp as not long after, then went brown in many places, but is doing well now.

Here's the dill and lavender. Got the lavender from from a plant in Mum's garden. It kindly sent up a shoot for me.

Here’s the dill and lavender. Got the lavender from from a plant in Mum’s garden. It kindly sent up a shoot for me.

Today's harvest

Today’s harvest

The view from the playroom

The view from the playroom

2013-01-18 17.00.50

Leave a Reply

