Dress

I haven’t made any clothes for myself since just before Sir A was born, I don’t think. Oh, that’s not quite true. I’ve made one top. But I certainly haven’t done anything since we moved in 9 months ago, partly cos of lack of time (thanks boys) and partly cos my machine was being a tardis. Still is kinda, but it’s better than it was. And also cos I got cunning with adapting normal clothes bought off trademe for nothing into functional breastfeeding clothes.

However, the other day my brain started magically designing a dress for me. Possibly cos I’d been looking at dresses on trademe. I’m not usually much of a dress person, objecting to having to wash the whole thing every times it’s worn (sadly I do not merely glow), but I thought I should really have one.

So I got out some fabric that brings out my eyes and has been sitting unused for 2 years (it’s bamboo, which cannot be bought in the Tron, generally, so when I was up at Global Fabrics in Auckland I kinda got 3m of two colours. It was on super special.) and the mannequin my lovely sister-in-law lent me, and got pinning and cutting. It’s not quite finished. I need to fix the side seams cos they’re a funny shape, and do a spot of handsewing in a couple of gaps where elastic had to go, and possibly do something about a hem, though I’m thinking I might just leave it raw cos it’s not going to fray and hems tend not to be invisible when done on stretch fabric with my machine. And I totally can’t be bothered doing it by hand.

The (mostly) finished product. Looks like a normal dress, no?

The (mostly) finished product. Looks like a normal dress, no?

But wait, it's actually super cunning, being all easy to breastfeed discreetly in.

But wait, it’s actually super cunning, being all easy to breastfeed discreetly in.

I made a top with a similar design when I was pregnant but it was really obviously that it was a feeding top, cos the elastic was all pully at the front. So this time I made the elastic go all the way around, and didn't put any in at the top of the underpanel (cos it made the armholes funny shaped). Much more satisfactory.

I made a top with a similar design when I was pregnant but it was really obviously that it was a feeding top, cos the elastic was all pully at the front. So this time I made the elastic go all the way around, and didn’t put any in at the top of the underpanel (cos it made the armholes funny shaped). Much more satisfactory. Also, it looks a bit different on me and with arms over the sides, but it’s hard to take photos of oneself standing with arms at sides.

Leave a Reply

