Hippy group episode two (of the September meet up)

Not having got through all we wanted to and getting all excited about Marietta’s goat’s cheese we had a second episode of our September meet up (though in October; details!)

After much yacking and admiring Marietta’s vege garden, we got onto how to make her goat’s cheese. She has a goat. It was milked early in the morning and the milk popped into the freezer to chill straight away (I presume only for a short time, and then into the fridge), to avoid the vile goaty taste so easy to acquire.

There are no pictures cos the childers were getting a bit angsty by then (hungry, I suppose) and I only vaguely paid attention. But so far as I can remember, this is how it went (hopefully she’ll correct me if I got it wrong):

1l goat’s milk

Stir in 2 tbsp lemon juice. Watch it curdle. Chant Little Miss Muffet (optional)

Oh dear, I think there might have been some salt, or another ingredient, but I can’t remember. Will update when I find out.

Then strain through cheese cloth or something else really fine – easiest to sit it in a sieve over a bowl and let it drip. Can squeeze the liquid to make it go faster. Guzzle the creamy, soft cheese. (I actually only had a tiny bit, cos I was on dairy free, which includes goat, unfortunately, but it was ungoaty and therefore good!)

The whey can be used for lots of things.

The second thing we wanted to do was me demonstrating how to make sauerkraut. This would have been fine if my children weren’t super attached to me by that stage (literally), and I had remembered to bring all the ingredients (naively assumed everyone kept cabbage in their fridges). We scrounged some kale out of the garden and I gave a very half arsed demo of what the leaves needed to look like to ferment properly, while feeding Sir A and attempting to ignore Lord B. Not hugely successful. So I made some at home and took some pictures. Here’re are the instructions!

SAUERKRAUT mmmm. I can’t say I’m the hugest fan of it on its own, but it’s quite manageable mixed in with stuff. Stuff that’s not too hot, obviously, or all the goodies will die. And gets realllllly delicious when it’s a couple of months + old.

  1. Wash and chop some cabbage. Then pound it till the juices come out. I use a pestle in a stainless steel receptacle.
  2. Add a sprinkling of salt as you go. I’d love to tell you how much but I just do it by eye. Maybe a liberal sprinkling for every 4 handfuls of kraut?
  3. Do the same with some carrot, garlic, and onion. I use 2 carrots, one onion, and a few cloves of garlic per cabbage.
  4. Chuck in some caraway seeds if you like.
  5. Mix it all up in receptacle of stainless steel, ceramic, glass or whatever you have that’s the right size. You’ll need a few centimetres breathing space at the top. Then add water if, after pressing all the ingredients down, it’s not covered. Place a plate or summing on top, and something to weigh it down. You can just fill a plastic bag with water to make it fit properly – you want the kraut to all stay covered. (Metal not ideal, but my biggest containers are pots, so meh.)
  6. Place somewhere room temperaturish for 3 or so days, then jar up and store in the fridge. Or guzzle. The longer you leave it, the more flavour it acquires. Like cheese.

    This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh and then Marita demonstrated water kefir, but I left cos the kids were REALLY tired, and plus I’ve already written about it 🙂

Comments
One Response to “Hippy group episode two (of the September meet up)”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] works for us, with minor variations. I also often add a bit water kefir and some juice from the sauerkraut if there isn’t as much juice as I’d like or I just want to chuck in some extra […]



Leave a Reply

