Water kefir

Finally got organised to try making water kefir. Hoping the grains are still happy!

First step – dissolve around 1/2 cup sugar in 800ish ml water.

20120807-152136.jpg

Add about 1/3 of a cup water kefir grains. I had about twice that so I did another jar and used it all.

Then add a piece of ginger, half a lemon, and a small handful of dates.

20120807-152454.jpg

Put the lid on and store out of the fridge for 24-72 hours. It’s not very warm at the moment so I’ll leave it 3ish days.

The morning after it looked like this:

20120807-152739.jpg

I’m not sure if I ended up doing it right, cos it’s quite sweet, but the grains seem to have approximately doubled, which is a good sign. And it is DELICIOUS!! A little like mildly alcoholic ginger ale. Definitely worth making again, though I might try different instructions next time. Wonder how that kombucha is going.

Found some much more comprehensive instructions here http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-Make-Authentic-Water-Kefir/?ALLSTEPS. I suspect that my grains aren’t working at full potential yet so maybe this’ll help. Though I will still be using tap water, due to lack of anything else right now.

A few days later and I’ve come to the sad realisation that my first batch was most likely mostly sugar water. I decided this when I went to put the grains into the jars for the second batch – had they doubled? Nope, pretty much exactly the same. Oops.

This time I boiled the water and let it sit for a bit to get rid of some of the chlorine. For feeding my grains (I think I’ll call them Legion), I used 3ish tbsp white sugar and one of molasses.

20120816-131910.jpg

No ginger or dates this time – just lemon. After around 30 hours the grains were floating and had clearly multiplied.

20120816-132139.jpg

Strained the grains and lemon off, squeezed the lemon juice in, and put the lot in the fridge till I was brave enough to try it, which I did today. It didn’t smell much like molasses, but sadly did taste quite a bit. I’m not a molasses fan. I’ve chucked in a little ginger to see if it improves the flavour.

Comments
6 Responses to “Water kefir”
  1. AfricanKiwi says:

    sounds interesting, glad it tastes better than it looks!haha

  2. A Table in the Sun says:

    I’m new at water kefir. My dehydrated grains grew greatly in the first couple of days, but now they have shrunk down and disintegrated somewhat. I hope I’m not killing them. It’s so hard to know if they are being appropriately cared for. How are yours coming along now?

    • I need to update the post a bit, actually – seems the first time didn’t actually really work! I know what you mean, though. Go googling and get instructions on how to make it but much harder to find out what to do with them between times!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Oh and then Marita demonstrated water kefir, but I left cos the kids were REALLY tired, and plus I’ve already written about it […]

  2. […] I don’t know about yet, but this works for us, with minor variations. I also often add a bit water kefir and some juice from the sauerkraut if there isn’t as much juice as I’d like or I just […]



Leave a Reply

