Crunchy yumness

A while back I saw this recipe in Chocolate Covered Katie and thought it looked worth a go. So I acquired some rice bubbles and proceeded to do nothing about it for weeks. A few days ago I made a version similar to hers, only with a bit of real chocolate too. It was pretty nice, but I didn’t want any added sugar, so I adapted it some more.

In a pot on low, chucked a few pieces of chocolate and a couple of spoons of coconut oil. Added 3 or so spoons of peanut butter and a sprinkling of salt. Mixed till smoothish, then chucked in handfuls of rice crispies. I squashed some of them as I was chucking them in. Mixed it all up and chucked in the freezer for a bit.

Thought it might be a fail, but I actually like it better than the first version I tried. Feeling quite smug.

Thought it might be a fail, but I actually like it better than the first version I tried. Feeling quite smug. It even has a really professional looking solid chocolate base lol.

Now generally I’m not a fan of processed cereals, and try to have a fairly low-grain diet. Lowish, anyway. But there’s not toooo much crap in ricies and the main problem with making delicious healthy things is the lack of bulk, which always makes me feel like I’ve eaten nothing even if there were heaps of calories involved. There’s also the knowledge that it’s healthy so less of a treat (how bad is that). The ricies make me feel just guilty enough that it really feels like a treat, and bulk it up enough that it lasts more than 3 seconds. Win-win, really.

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

